Blondel ‎– The Amazing Elsie Emerald

Talking Elephant ‎– TECD162
CD, Album


1 The Next Time
2 Fools Gold
3 Cool Margherita
4 Fools Who Try
5 Cloudy
6 Maybe
7 Don't Turn Your Back
8 Here At Last
9 When I Get Home Tonight
10 High Time



In fact, when John Gladwyn left, Baird & Wincott decided to call themselves Blondel; "Amazing" doesn't appear anywhere on the cover or on the CD itself. I did hesitate a lot before making the change, but I heard an interview with Eddie Baird stating that fact.

Ed composed all songs, sang and played: all guitars, mandola, lead and backing vocals.
Terry sang, arranged, played and programmed: drums, acoustic bass, recorder, brass & brass band, flute, accordion, B4 Hammond, piano, string combinations, percussion, backing vocals.
Thanks to our guests:
Darryl Ebbatson: vocals & ukulele on 'Here At Last'
Claire Wincott: vocals on 'Here At Last', 'When I Get Home Tonight' and 'Next Time'.
John "Rabbit" Bundrick: piano & Hammond on 'When I Get Home Tonight'.
Les Wilson: bouzouki on 'Fools Gold' and 'Here At Last.
Recorded by CuBiCuLuM Studios & Smallcog Studios for Blondel Productions ( and Talking Elephant Records.
"Elsie's" photos by Sean Hogan.
Sleeve notes: Ed & Terry
(thanks: matey, Darryl 'Daz' Ebbatson (, Claire, Janice)

The name and the order of some tracks seem wrong. The right one is certainly:
1. Cool Margarita
2. Fools Gold
3. Maybe
4. Fools Who Try
5. Don't Turn Your Back
6. High Time
7. Next Time
8. When I Get Home Tonight
9. Here At Last

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5028479016228