Bob Dylan ‎– Blood On The Tracks

Columbia ‎– PC 33235
Vinyl, LP, Album, Black Liner Notes


A1 Tangled Up In Blue 5:40
A2 Simple Twist Of Fate 4:18
A3 You're A Big Girl Now 4:36
A4 Idiot Wind 7:45
A5 You're Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go 2:58
B1 Meet Me In The Morning 4:19
B2 Lily, Rosemary And The Jack Of Hearts 8:50
B3 If You See Her, Say Hello 4:46
B4 Shelter From The Storm 4:59
B5 Buckets Of Rain 3:29

Companies, etc.



This is the first-issue with liner notes in black font on rear cover.
'Side 1 / Side 2' text differs from Bob Dylan - Blood On The Tracks.
Colored cardstock inner sleeve, "PC 33235" printed in white on lower left corner.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Matrix, Side A label): AL 33235
  • Matrix / Runout (Matrix, Side B label): BL 33235
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side A): P AL 33235-2C
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side B): P BL 33235-2AB
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 1, Variant 2, stamped): P AL 33235-2C
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 2, Variant 2, stamped): P AL 33235-2AG
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 1, Variant 3, stamped): P AL 33235-2D
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 2, Variant 3, stamped): P BL 33235-2AB
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 1, Variant 4, stamped except 2T 1 etched): P AL 33235-2B 2T o A1
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 2, Variant 4, stamped except 2T 8 etched): P BL 33235-2L 2T C8 o
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A, Variant 5, stamped except 2T etched): P AL 33235-2A 2T o A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B, Variant 5, stamped except 1T 4 etched): P BL 33235-2AA 1T o D4

Other Versions (5 of 186) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
CH 90323 Bob Dylan Blood On The Tracks(SACD, Hybrid, Multichannel, Album, Promo, For) Columbia CH 90323 US 2003 Sell This Version
19075936032, CDCBS69097 Bob Dylan Blood On The Tracks(CD, Album, RE) CBS, Sony Music, Columbia 19075936032, CDCBS69097 Australia Unknown Sell This Version
MHCP 811 Bob Dylan Blood On The Tracks(CD, Album, RE) Sony Records Int'l MHCP 811 Japan 2005 Sell This Version
JC 33235 Bob Dylan Blood On The Tracks(LP, Album, RE) Columbia JC 33235 US Unknown Sell This Version
MFSL 1-381 Bob Dylan Blood On The Tracks(LP, Album, Ltd, Num, RE, RM, TP, 180) Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab MFSL 1-381 US 2013 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 24 Reviews

Add Review



May 26, 2020
I'm a DJ in Bridgeport, CT at a radio station....I have my own personal copy of a first edition BLOOD ON THE TRACKS- I went to play it again and I forgot that my LP has the Side A and Side B labels reversed????? Has anyone else heard about this little quick of fate?


February 8, 2020
I appear to have a copy of the original pressing BUT it is a promo copy. Not the Buckinghams version - but has DEMONSTRATION NOT FOR SALE in black stamped on the front and back - with an oddly shaped corner cut. I don't see this version listed anywhere for this. Any ideas?


July 12, 2019
Adoro la música de Dylan y este disco en especial
Siempre me gustó mucho su lado country y en este disco está pletórico.


June 5, 2019
MoFi has and Ultradisc One-Step release of this album available for pre-order/coming out soon -


April 9, 2019
Just picked up the RSD NYC mix Test press.
Nice sounding slightly different mix, vinyl sounds great and 9/10 on the quiet scale.
Bought on a whim, as an "extra".


April 3, 2019
Hi all, I have a UK copy with A2/B2 matrix numbers. The cover has a slight misprint on the Dylan photo which shows as a white spot just under the nose. If memory serves me, this became known as the 'Dewdrop' cover and was quickly withdrawn Has anyone else come across these covers?


February 23, 2019
Does anyone have a spare sleeve? Just picked up the record but no sleeve...many thanks


January 27, 2019

The great thing about Bob Dylan is that it's almost impossible to write or discuss him without losing the iconic stance he has on pop culture. From day one it seems Dylan was made to be great, especially when he changed his name from Zimmerman to Dylan. In my world, Dylan is very much the pop entertainer and more in tune to someone like David Bowie than the 1960s Folk Music scene. He used the landscape, like Bowie using whatever he read or saw, but the truth is, both characters made themselves up to be what they are - not only great songwriters but a theatrical presentation as well.

"Blood on the Tracks" is often seen as a personal work by Dylan. Perhaps due to his divorce or the after-effects of the separation that took place at the time of the recordings. One can fish into the words of these songs for a clue, but I suspect that Dylan doesn't think in that manner. A bad incident or day for him is a springboard of imagination and various narrations, and at the end of the day, Dylan wants to tell a tale that will be enjoyed, and therefore he's more of a music hall performer than a raw rock n' roll soul. Dylan is not a journalist, but more of a short story writer, with an incredible amount of details in his narratives. "Blood on the Tracks" as an album, can probably be made into a film, or a narrative novel.

Oddly enough, it was only a week ago that I heard this album as a whole piece. Before that, it is just what I heard on the radio, and there are favorite songs here: "Tangled Up in Blue," Simple Twist of Fate," and of course, "Idiot Wind." Listening to side one of "Blood on the Tracks" is similar to listening to a greatest hits album. It's interesting to hear this work as an album, instead of separate songs. All stand by themselves, but the mood that runs through the collection is consistent, and there is no 'loose' cannon here, it all fits like a well-designed puzzle.

"Idiot Wind" stands out because it is so angry, or I should say the character in the song is angry, yet, the humor is very tongue-in-cheek. One can think it's a song from a psycho killer. On the other hand, it may be my favorite Dylan vocal. The way Dylan sings he reminds me of Lotte Lenya, in a very Bertolt Brecht method of separating the listener from the emotion, and one hears the intelligence behind the words. The character is angry, but the song itself is not furious. There is a distance between the character in the song and what he's singing about. His technique makes the words sting, because of its setting. Dylan looks at his songs like a scientist looking at an object in a test tube. There is a strong sense of objectivity, and for the listener, it's a subjective experience, as well as presuming that the character in the song is causally commenting on the 'facts.'

A very melodic record, and oddly enough it reminds me of the softer material on the Rolling Stones' "Aftermath." Only in texture, not in the style of songwriting, but one could imagine the Stones doing a version of "Idiot Wind." There's real beauty between Dylan's voice and the strumming of the guitar, and the minimalist organ. It's beautifully recorded by engineer veteran Phil Ramone, which brings to mind Sinatra's great ballad albums he made for Capitol Records in the 1950s. Dylan takes from the past, and he manages to twist it in the fashion of a Teddy Boy using Edwardian design to say something new. A great album.


August 3, 2018
Holy Grail Of 1974
In my top five Bobby Albums
Love It


October 14, 2016
I own this record but without the cover- if anyone has a cover for it I would be interested in buying, regardless of condition. Let me know, thanks so much