Bob Dylan ‎– Empire Burlesque

Columbia ‎– FC 40110
Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Tight Connection To My Heart (Has Anybody Seen My Love)
Backing Vocals – Carol Dennis, Queen Esther Marrow*, Peggi BluBass – Robbie ShakespeareDrums – Sly DunbarGuitar – Mick Taylor, Ted PerlmanKeyboards, Vocals – Bob DylanSynthesizer – Richard Scher
A2 Seeing The Real You At Last
Bass – Bob GlaubDrums – Don HeffingtonGuitar – Mike CampbellGuitar, Vocals – Bob DylanHorns – Chops (2)Keyboards – Benmont TenchPercussion – Bashiri JohnsonSaxophone [Solo] – David Watson
A3 I'll Remember You
Bass – Howie EpsteinDrums – Jim KeltnerGuitar – Mike CampbellPiano, Vocals – Bob DylanVocals – Madelyn Quebec
A4 Clean Cut Kid
Backing Vocals – Carol Dennis, Queen Esther Marrow*, Peggi BluBass – John Paris*Drums – Anton FigGuitar – Ron WoodGuitar, Vocals – Bob DylanPiano – Benmont Tench
A5 Never Gonna Be The Same Again
Backing Vocals – Debra Byrd, Queen Esther Marrow*, Peggi BluBass – Robbie ShakespeareDrums – Sly DunbarGuitar – Syd McGuiness*Keyboards, Vocals – Bob DylanSynthesizer – Alan Clark, Richard SherVocals – Carol Dennis
B1 Trust Yourself
Backing Vocals – Carol Dennis, Debra Byrd, Queen Esther Marrow*Bass – Robbie ShakespeareDrums – Jim KeltnerGuitar – Mike CampbellGuitar, Vocals – Bob DylanKeyboards – Benmont TenchPercussion – Bashiri JohnsonVocals – Madelyn Quebec
B2 Emotionally Yours
Bass – Howie EpsteinDrums – Jim KeltnerGuitar – Mike CampbellOrgan – Benmont TenchPiano, Vocals – Bob DylanSynthesizer [Horns] – Richard Scher
B3 When The Night Comes Falling From The Sky
Bass – Robbie ShakespeareDrums – Sly DunbarElectric Guitar – Stuart KimballGuitar, Vocals – Bob DylanHorns – Urban Blight HornsPercussion – Bashiri JohnsonRhythm Guitar – Al KooperSynthesizer – Richard ScherVocals – Madelyn Quebec
B4 Something's Burning, Baby
Bass – Robbie ShakespeareDrums – Don HeffingtonGuitar – Ira IngberSynthesizer – Richard Scher, Vince MelamedVocals – Bob Dylan, Madelyn Quebec
B5 Dark Eyes
Vocals, Guitar, Harmonica – Bob Dylan

Companies, etc.



Issued with printed inner lyric sleeve

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side 1 runout etched): P AP AL40110-1H
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 2 runout etched): ⊗ P AP BL40110-1A ⊗
  • Matrix / Runout (Stamped both sides): STERLING
  • Rights Society: ASCAP
  • Barcode: 7464 40110 1
  • Barcode (Scanned): 074644011012

Other Versions (5 of 50) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
PC 8070 Bob Dylan Empire Burlesque(Cass, Album) CBS PC 8070 New Zealand 1985 Sell This Version
32DP 244 Bob Dylan Empire Burlesque(CD, Album, RE, Box) CBS/Sony 32DP 244 Japan 1985 Sell This Version
138.636, 138636 Bob Dylan Empire Burlesque(LP, Album) CBS, CBS 138.636, 138636 Brazil 1985 Sell This Version
86313 Bob Dylan Empire Burlesque(Cass, Album) CBS, Balet 86313 Turkey 1985 Sell This Version
40 3076 Bob Dylan Empire Burlesque(Cass, Album) CBS 40 3076 South Africa 1985 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



November 7, 2018
Funny how the production on the '60s records sounds so timeless and yet the job they did on Dylan's '80s records sounds so old-fashioned and dated.

Slightly off-topic, but someone I knew who knew Gene Clark well said that he (Gene) wanted to make records that sounded like Springsteen's Born In The USA: "maybe that'll work" he mused (ie, it might sell records). My friend laughed and said "you're joking, surely", but Gene was sincere. Those drums, that keyboard sound..... ugh. Same thing happened here, except Dylan got his way.


October 31, 2014
Bob Dylan with Shoulder Pads...The opening tracks OK but I wish he'd stuck with a solid group and left the synthesised drum sound well alone. It's all a bit Phil Collins, sounds like it's from a soundtrack to some cheesy 80's American Show and it's not just the speak and spell backing music, the lyrics fall down too. I just can't connect to this,