Bob James ‎– Sign Of The Times

Tappan Zee Records ‎– FC 37495, Columbia ‎– FC 37495
Vinyl, LP, Album, Gatefold


A1 Hypnotique 5:49
A2 The Steamin' Feelin' 5:19
A3 Enchanted Forest 5:30
B1 Unicorn 9:00
B2 Sign Of The Times 5:35
B3 Love Power 5:30

Companies, etc.



Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Scanned): 074643749510
  • Barcode (Text): 0 7464-37495-1
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A Label): AL 37495
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B Label): BL 37495
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A Stamped): AL-37495-1A COLUMBIA NY C O
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B Stamped): BL-37495-1L COLUMBIA NY C O
  • Rights Society: ASCAP
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A Stamped): AL--37495-1H COLUMBIA NY
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B Stamped): BL-37495-1K COLUMBIA NY

Other Versions (5 of 22) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
AS 1299 Bob James Bob James/Dave Herman Interview(LP, Promo) Tappan Zee Records AS 1299 US 1981 Sell This Version
VICJ-61722 Bob James Sign Of The Times(CD, Album, RE) Tappan Zee Records VICJ-61722 Japan 2015 Sell This Version
FCT 37495 Bob James Sign Of The Times(Cass, Album, Dol) Columbia FCT 37495 Canada 1981 Sell This Version
ESMCD 450, GAS 0000450 ESM Bob James Sign Of The Times(CD, Album, RE) Essential, Castle Communications ESMCD 450, GAS 0000450 ESM UK 1996 Sell This Version
CBS 85226 Bob James Sign Of The Times(LP, Album, Gat) CBS CBS 85226 Europe 1981 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 6 Reviews

Add Review



February 4, 2017
edited over 2 years ago
Another of Bob's great post 70s releases. He can serve up a mix of spice and sweet all in one musical spoonful.
Again you like the bell-tones of Rhodes electric married to great arrangements and a penchant for the hook this is for you.
Nice well executed smooth jazz (I hate the term BUT it is true) this isn't Return to Forever in your face rock fusion. Deeper into the album/cd tracks prove Bob can really utilize dynamics to get a mood across to the listener.
He dips into latin, funk, a little disco, classical and of course jazz waters with stride. Brilliant!


June 13, 2016

Just completely delightful. A real cool blend of both worlds. Still rockable even over 30 years later! Well, crafted, well mixed, pure genius and artistry in the vocal and instrument arrangements. A pure delight!


January 13, 2015
That sample tho.


November 9, 2012
edited over 6 years ago

Well, it had to happen. Bob James attempts to cash-in on the hottest songwriter in those days, Rod Temperton. Unfortunately, the guy who wrote "Thriller" and "Rock With You" left a bag of dogshit on James's porch, lit it and ran (perhaps the origin of "The Steaming Feeling"). It's kind of what he did with a lot of the Heatwave albums. Temperton appeared to save his best songs for the artists most likely to capitalize on them, guys like Michael Jackson and George Benson.

As a result, the best tracks here are James's originals. "Unicorn" is quite good. Now, that's not to say that Temperton's tracks are awful (though the title track really IS awful), but you have to lower yourself to the level of grocery store muzak circa 1981 to enjoy them. Not impossible, but difficult.


October 2, 2009
This is a great record. I was initially a little skeptical about it because, being a 1981 release, would it not be getting away from the 70s era Bob James jazz funk sound I love? Well, it does, kind of, but that turned out to not necessarily be a bad thing after all. Definitely there are some 80s dance influences here, but it hasn't entirely lost the 70s groove, either. The real jam here is Sign of the Times, the intro to which I think was sampled for the intro of Regulate by Nate Dogg and Warren G. The rest of the album is pretty solid as well. I would give this record 4-4.5/5, definitely worth the fairly low price I tend to see it selling for in my area.