Brian Eno ‎– Before And After Science

Virgin EMI Records ‎– ENO2LP4, UMC ‎– 00602557484243
2 × Vinyl, LP, 45 RPM, Album, Limited Edition, Reissue, Remastered

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 No One Receiving
Bass [Fretless Bass] – Percy JonesBass Guitar – Paul RudolphDrum Programming [Synthesized Percussion] – Brian EnoDrums – Phil CollinsGong [Agong-gong And Stick] – Rhett DaviesGuitar – Brian EnoPiano – Brian EnoRhythm Guitar – Paul RudolphSynthesizer – Brian EnoVocals – Brian Eno
A2 Backwater
Bass Guitar – Paul RudolphBrass – Brian EnoDrums – Jaki LiebezeitPiano – Brian EnoRhythm Guitar – Brian EnoVocals – Brian Eno
B1 Kurt's Rejoinder
Bass [Analog Delay Bass] – Percy JonesDrums – Dave MattacksPiano ['jazz' Piano] – Brian EnoSynthesizer – Brian EnoTimbales [Brush Timbales] – Shirley WilliamsVocals – Brian Eno, Kurt Schwitters
B2 Energy Fools The Magician
Bass [Fretless Bass] – Percy JonesDrums – Phil CollinsGuitar [Modified Guitar] – Fred FrithKeyboards – Brian EnoVibraphone – Brian EnoVocals – Brian Eno
B3 King's Lead Hat
Bass Guitar – Paul RudolphDrums – Andy FraserGuitar [Guitar Solo] – Robert FrippPercussion [Metallics] – Brian EnoPiano [Piano Solo] – Brian EnoRhythm Guitar – Brian Eno, Phil ManzaneraVocals – Brian Eno
C1 Here He Comes
Bass Guitar – Paul RudolphDrums – Dave MattacksGuitar – Phil ManzaneraPiano – Brian EnoSynthesizer [Moog] – Brian EnoSynthesizer [Yamaha Cs80] – Brian EnoVocals – Brian Eno
C2 Julie With...
Bass [Harmonic Bass] – Paul RudolphBass Guitar – Paul RudolphBells – Brian EnoGuitar – Brian EnoPiano – Brian EnoSynthesizer [Aks] – Brian EnoSynthesizer [Cs80] – Brian EnoSynthesizer [Mini-moog] – Brian EnoVocals – Brian Eno
D1 By This River
Piano [Bass Fender Piano] – Möbi Moebius*Piano [Grand And Electric Pianos] – Achim Roedelius*Synthesizer [Cs80] – Brian EnoVocals – Brian EnoWritten-By – Brian Eno, Möbi Moebius*, Achim Roedelius*
D2 Through Hollow Lands (For Harold Budd)
Bass Guitar – Bill MacCormickBells – Brian EnoGuitar [Cascade Guitars] – Fred FrithGuitar [Melody Guitar] – Brian EnoKeyboards – Brian EnoPerformer [Time] – Shirley WilliamsSynthesizer [Moog] – Brian Eno
D3 Spider And I
Bass Guitar – Brian TurringtonKeyboards – Brian EnoSynthesizer [Aks] – Brian EnoVocals – Brian Eno

Companies, etc.



Each album contains an Obi, Download Voucher and Abbey Road Half Speed Master certificate.
℗ 1977 Virgin Records Ltd.
© 2017 Virgin Records Ltd.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 0602557484243
  • Other (Cat # LP1): 00602557484335
  • Other (Cat # LP1): 574 843-3
  • Other (Cat # LP2): 00602557484342
  • Other (Cat # LP2): 574 843-4
  • Matrix / Runout (Etched A): ENO2LP4 / 5748433 MILES ABBEY ROAD ROOM 30 1/2 SPEED BH74442-01 A1
  • Matrix / Runout (Etched B): ENO2LP4 / 5748433 MILES ABBEY ROAD ROOM 30 1/2 SPEED BH74442-01 B1
  • Matrix / Runout (Etched C): ENO2LP4 / 5748424 MILES ABBEY ROAD ROOM 30 1/2 SPEED BH74442-02 C1
  • Matrix / Runout (Etched D): ENO2LP4 / 5748424 MILES ABBEY ROAD ROOM 30 1/2 SPEED BH74442-02 D1
  • Rights Society: BIEM/SDRM

Other Versions (5 of 68) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
2302 071 Brian Eno Before And After Science(LP, Album) Polydor 2302 071 UK 1977 Sell This Version
V2 87186, 0777 7 87186 2 8 Brian Eno Before And After Science(CD, Album) EG, Virgin Music Canada V2 87186, 0777 7 87186 2 8 Canada Unknown Sell This Version
2310 547 Brian Eno Before And After Science(LP, Album, Ltd) Polydor 2310 547 France 1977 Sell This Version
EGLP 32 Brian Eno Before And After Science(LP, Album, RE) EG EGLP 32 UK 1987 Sell This Version
2344 087 Brian Eno Before And After Science(LP, Album) Polydor 2344 087 Germany 1977 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 16 Reviews

Add Review



February 18, 2018
I own the original 1977 pressing and recently bought this half speed master. The new one is more clear, more articulate with a bit more flesh out notes. The difference is subtle though and the difference in the musical ‘picture’ overall is not that great. All in all not a bad attempt..


August 20, 2017
Does this contain the lithographs by Peter Schmidt that came with the original album? This is the only one of the reissues I didn't pick up because I already have the original vinyl, but it is missing the lithographs. I'll consider buying this if it contains them. The other reissues had nothing but the mastering certificate and download code.


August 12, 2017
I got two record twos in my copy, anyone else have this happen?


August 7, 2017
edited about 1 year ago
Regarding this new Abbey Road master, there's a flaw on Side Three during the song "Here He Comes" where, at the end of the third chorus, the audio shifts slightly over to the right channel for a few seconds before returning back to its balanced state. This flaw is not in the lossless .wav files that came as a download code with the record.

Just my copy, or... ?

EDIT: So, it turns out this flaw (and some others since discovered) are part of the deterioration of the master tapes used for these Abbey Road reissues, 13 years removed from the 2004 DSD reissues on CD. A bit of a shame, but honestly, for those of you (like me) who have never owned the original pressings of the Eno quadrilogy and were hoping to have brand new copies for themselves that sound just as good, if not better, than the originals, you're better off buying these while they're still affordable instead of purchasing used & near-expensive vintage pressings.

Also, I suspect the download codes for these albums contain lossless .wav files of the 2004 DSD issues, because they don't contain the same aural drops these reissues do. Docked one star for Before and After Science having the most master-tape dropouts of the quadrilogy reissues, and the fact that my copy of Disc 2 was dirty as hell on both sides. Vastly reduced the pops, hiss and clicks with a thorough cleaning, but some little bits remain. Good enough for me.


July 26, 2017
I haven't heard these new 45rpm pressings yet...but am I the only one who would prefer a simple, single disc 33rpm repress? First of all I hate having to flip after 2 or 3 songs, and they're also too expensive. I may be just getting old and crotchety but....