Brian Wilson ‎– Smile

Nonesuch ‎– 79846-2
CD, HDCD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Our Prayer / Gee
Written-By [Gee] – Morris Levy, William Davis (2)Written-By [Our Prayer] – Brian Wilson
2 Heroes And Villains
Written-By – Brian Wilson, Van Dyke Parks
3 Roll Plymouth Rock
Written-By – Brian Wilson, Van Dyke Parks
4 Barnyard
Written-By – Brian Wilson, Van Dyke Parks
5 Old Master Painter / You Are My Sunshine
Written-By [Old Master Painter] – Beasley Smith, Haven GillespieWritten-By [You Are My Sunshine] – Jimmie Davis
6 Cabin Essence
Written-By – Brian Wilson, Van Dyke Parks
7 Wonderful
Written-By – Brian Wilson, Van Dyke Parks
8 Song For Children
Written-By – Brian Wilson, Van Dyke Parks
9 Child Is Father Of The Man
Written-By – Brian Wilson, Van Dyke Parks
10 Surf's Up
Written-By – Brian Wilson, Van Dyke Parks
11 I'm In Great Shape / I Wanna Be Around / Workshop
Written-By [I Wanna Be Around] – Johnny Mercer, Sadie VimmerstedtWritten-By [I'm In Great Shape] – Brian Wilson, Van Dyke ParksWritten-By [Workshop] – Brian Wilson
12 Vega-Tables
Written-By – Brian Wilson, Van Dyke Parks
13 On A Holiday
Written-By – Brian Wilson, Van Dyke Parks
14 Wind Chimes
Written-By – Brian Wilson, Van Dyke Parks
15 Mrs. O'Leary's Cow
Written-By – Brian Wilson
16 In Blue Hawaii
Written-By – Brian Wilson, Van Dyke Parks
17 Good Vibrations
Written-By – Brian Wilson, Michael Love*, Tony Asher (2)

Companies, etc.



Packaged in a standard jewel case with a white tray and a 32 page illustrated booklet inside an embossed carded slipcase.

Basic tracks recorded April 13 through April 17, 2004
Overdubs and mix April, May & June 2004
Mastered in Microsoft HDCD

Nonesuch Records, a Warner Music Group Company. ℗ & © 2004 BriMel Records. Exclusively licensed to Nonesuch Records Inc. for the United States and WEA International Inc. for the world outside of the United States.

Made in the U.S.A.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 0 75597 98462 0
  • Matrix / Runout (Variants 1, 5): Z28888 1-79846-2 01 M1S14
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): Z28888 1 79846-2 01 M1S3
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 3): Z28888 1 79846-2 01 M1S4
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 4): Z28888 1 79846-2 01 M1S6
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 6): Z28888 1 79846-2 01 M1S2
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 7): Z28888 1 79846-2 01 M1S9
  • Mastering SID Code (Variants 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7): ifpi L909
  • Mould SID Code (Variants 1, 2): IFPI 2UG9
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 3): IFPI 2U3P
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 4): IFPI 2UA2
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 5): IFPI 2U4E
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 6): IFPI 2U7M
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 7): IFPI 2UA5

Other Versions (5 of 15) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
WPCR-11916 Brian Wilson Smile(CD, Album) Nonesuch WPCR-11916 Japan 2005 Sell This Version
WPJR-10001/2 Brian Wilson Smile(2xLP, Album, Gat) Nonesuch WPJR-10001/2 Japan 2005 Sell This Version
7559-79914-2 Brian Wilson Smile(HDCD, Album) Nonesuch 7559-79914-2 Europe 2004 Sell This Version
7559-79846-1 Brian Wilson Smile(2xLP, Album, 180) Nonesuch 7559-79846-1 UK, Europe & US 2004 Sell This Version
7559-79846-2 Brian Wilson Smile(CD, Album) Nonesuch 7559-79846-2 Argentina 2004 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



March 17, 2018
I have one with Matrix 1-79846-2 01 M1S10, yet I don't think it's an HDCD.


April 1, 2005
edited over 13 years ago

This is quite possibly the best thing since Pet Sounds and that means a lot if you consider the weight behind Brian's first masterpiece. Without doubt my favourite album of 2004 and sitting right up there in my top five albums of all time. The back story of this album is incredibly interesting. After finishing Pet Sounds, Brian set about creating an album that would capture all the greatest developements he'd made in symphony pop. Smile started out but never saw the light of day due to Wilson's breakdown. However certain songs were completed, such as Good Vibrations, Heroes and Villians and Cabin Essence and these impressed all who listened. But everyone was left waiting for over thirty years for Brian to finish what he'd started. Finally, Brian peiced together a band that would have made the original Beach Boy line up happy and redid all the songs in the way they were originally intended. So what eventually came to be was Smile, released in 2004, and what a justice it is to all who waited. The sheer genius of his studio production, harmonic and symphonic arrangement, is totally stunning. This album is like a trip through the best Zappa song you've ever heard mixed with the best psychedelia and the best show tunes. It's the trippiest album I've heard for at least five years. A big note must be given to Van Dyke Park's incredible lyrics, which are at once simplistic and avant-garde. If you've never heard Brian at his best or are simply looking for a masterpiece of song craft then you will do no better than this album. I love it. Anyone who's heard it loves it. Listen to it. You will love it too. As Brian has said, "Our smile dream has come true." Surfs up!