Cabaret Voltaire ‎– The Crackdown

Virgin ‎– CVCD1, Virgin ‎– 610 493
CD, Album, Reissue


1 24-24 5:55
2 In The Shadows 4:33
3 Talking Time 5:16
4 Animation 5:40
5 Over And Over 4:25
6 Just Fascination 4:04
7 Why Kill Time (When You Can Kill Yourself) 3:51
8 Haiti 3:18
9 Crackdown 6:24
10 Diskono 5:48
11 Double Vision 4:15
12 Badge Of Evil 5:28
13 Moscow 4:53

Companies, etc.



Published by Copyright Control, except tracks 5 & 10 Rough Trade Music
℗ 1983 Virgin Records Ltd.
© 1985 Virgin Records Ltd.

Originally released on LP and cassette in 1983.

Tracks 10 to 13 originally appeared on a bonus 12" that came with the initial copies of the LP edition.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 5 012981 987121
  • Matrix / Runout: CVCD-1 13 A1
  • Distribution Code: PM 500
  • SPARS Code: AAD

Other Versions (5 of 28) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
CV 1 Cabaret Voltaire The Crackdown(LP, Album) Virgin, Some Bizzare CV 1 UK 1983 Sell This Version
VLX4 2266 Cabaret Voltaire The Crackdown(Cass, Album) Some Bizzare VLX4 2266 Canada 1983 Sell This Version
TRCP-144 Cabaret Voltaire The Crackdown(CD, Album, RE, RM) Traffic Inc. TRCP-144 Japan 2013 Sell This Version
062 - VG - 50005, 062 - VG - 50.005 Cabaret Voltaire The Crackdown(LP, Album) Virgin, Virgin, Some Bizzare 062 - VG - 50005, 062 - VG - 50.005 Greece 1983 Sell This Version
CV 1 Cabaret Voltaire The Crackdown(LP, Album) Virgin CV 1 Italy 1983 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



January 20, 2010

Though Red Mecca and 2x45 are often mentioned as Cabaret Voltaire's quintessential releases, this one will almost always qualify as my favorite. And the particular reason is because this is the point at which the Cabs went truly electronic and a little more mainstream with their sound, moving away from the paranoid, noisy rhythm experiments on which they'd concentrated for the last two LPs and developing instead a smoother, more palatable James Brown-inspired sound. Just about every track on this landmark album is a state-of-the-1983-art electrofunk piece that takes a few inspired ideas, both musical and lyrical, and works them into an incredibly repetitive frenzy. Stephen Mallinder's once-dehumanized voice now sounds almost warm, though the abundant themes are still "industrial" in nature... drugs, technology, socialism, globalism, urban noir. Though most would equate this record with its standout bass-heavy dance tracks like "Over and Over" and "Just Fascination," it is the variety in the more unusual tracks that make it truly worthwhile. The opening pairing of rhythmic dissonance ("24-24") and alluring gloom ("In the Shadows") could almost be viewed as a segue from their former sound, while the almost humorous "Why Kill Time (When You Can Kill Yourself)" grants the Cabs an ass-shaking post-punk anthem that is still wholly underrated despite the fact that entire subgenres have developed from its sound. The original record closed with the album's best track, "Crackdown," a hard synth-pop piece that gave birth to industrial dance—and was later cribbed quite neatly by Skinny Puppy's "Testure" in 1988.

This CD version has been the prominent CD version of this record for more than 25 years. It tacks on the four soundtrack pieces (from the Cabs' first video compilation) that originally appeared on the bonus EP that came with the LP. The most interesting of these tracks is "Diskono," a Cabaret Voltaire classic and one of their best abrasive dance tracks.