Califone ‎– Roots & Crowns

Thrill Jockey ‎– thrill 163
Vinyl, LP, Album, Limited Edition


A1 Pink & Sour 4:13
A2 Spiders House 3:47
A3 Sunday Noises 2:50
A4 The Eye You Lost In The Crusades 4:42
A5 A Chinese Actor 4:18
A6 Our Kitten Sees Ghosts 2:47
B1 Alice Crawley 0:37
B2 The Orchids 2:55
B3 Burned By The Christians 3:55
B4 Black Metal Valentine 6:16
B5 Rose Petal Ear 2:09
B6 3 Legged Animal 4:08
B7 If You Would 5:43


  • Artwork [Art Assist]Chris Hamilton (11)
  • Artwork [Cards]Gina Kelly
  • BassWil Hendricks
  • DesignSheila Sachs
  • Drums [Batterie, Lensdrum], Performer [Pistons], Rattle [Zuni], Performer [Shu{3}lai{2}bao{3} Treasure Counting Stick], Performer [Bronze Fork], Percussion [Gourds], Shaker, Percussion [Glass], Chimes [Oak], Performer [Ribbon Crasher]Ben Massarella
  • Drums, Bass Clarinet, Organ [Wurlitzer], Piano, Organ, Vibraphone, Sampler [Dr. Sample], Bells, Melodica, Percussion [Prepared Metaliphone]Joe Adamik
  • Harmonica, Loops, ElectronicsBrian Deck
  • Recorded ByAndy Bosnak, Califone, Jim McGranahan, Michael Krassner, Ron Guensche
  • Recorded By, Mixed By, Synthesizer, Electronics [Manipulation], Vibraphone, OrganBrian Deck
  • TromboneMichael McGinley
  • TrumpetAlan Scalpone
  • ViolaAnthony Gilbert
  • Violin, Banjo, Vocals, Guitar, Bass, Loops, Electronics, Percussion, Xylophone, Accordion [Cajun], Mandolin, KalimbaJim Becker
  • Vocals, Guitar, Piano, Electronics, Recorded By [Field Recordings], Organ, Synthesizer, Banjo, Loops, Balalaika [Bowed], Photography By, Artwork [Collage]Tim Rutili
  • Written-ByMassarella* (tracks: A1, A3, A5, B4), Deck* (tracks: A1, A5, B4), G. Sherman* (tracks: A2), Becker* (tracks: A1, A3, A5, A6, B4, B7), Adamik* (tracks: A1, A3, A5, B4, B7), Psychic TV (tracks: 8), Rutili* (tracks: A1 to A6, B3 to B7)


Recorded at 4deuces, Chicago; Angeles Drake's Warehouse, Long Beach; Nico's House, Phoenix; Western Sound Lab, Los Angeles and at home and in the wilderness.
Wil's bass recorded at New Future Vintage Studios, Oakland.
Version 1 was limited to 1,000 copies and came in hand screened jackets with an insert. Cover image was that of a dragon (or cow) depending on your interpretation [this]
Version 2 is also limited to 1,000 copies and features different artwork (this time a rabbit on the cover). Also comes in a hand screened jacket with insert.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A (version 1)): THRILL-163-A 14702.1 (2)
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B (version 1)): THRILL-163-B 14702.2 (2)

Other Versions (5 of 5) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
thrill 163 Califone Roots & Crowns(CD, Album, Dig) Thrill Jockey thrill 163 US 2006 Sell This Version
thrill 163 Califone Roots & Crowns(CD, Album, Promo) Thrill Jockey thrill 163 US 2006 Sell This Version
thrill 163 Califone Roots & Crowns(CD) Thrill Jockey thrill 163 Australia 2006 Sell This Version
none Califone Roots & Crowns(CDr, Album, Promo) Thrill Jockey none UK 2006 Sell This Version
thrill163 Califone Roots & Crowns(LP, Album, Ltd, Rab) Thrill Jockey thrill163 US 2006 Sell This Version