Cannonball Adderley ‎– Big Man: The Legend Of John Henry

Fantasy ‎– F-79006
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album


A1 Overture 2:17
A2 Anybody Need A Big Man 3:49
A3 Who Bend The Rainbow 3:42
A4 Forty More Miles To Go/Rouster's Chant 1:17
A5 Ten Mile Of Mountain/Recitative: Who Up In Heaven 3:00
B1 Dialogue (Carolina) 0:13
B2 Gonna Give Lovin' A Try 3:15
B3 The Broomstick Song 1:24
B4 Next Year In Jerusalem 2:18
B5 Dialogue (Carolina, John Henry) 0:27
B6 Stayin' Place (Intro) 0:34
B7 Stayin' Place 2:38
B8 Dialogue (Carolina) 0:19
B9 A New Star Risin' 2:02
B10 The Steamdrill Race (Intro) 0:50
C1 Anybody Need A Big Man 6:07
C2 Grind You Own Coffee 3:10
C3 Anybody Need A Big Man/Dialogue (Deputy) 0:47
C4 Hundred An' One Year/M'Ria 1:29
C5 River 2:11
C6 A New Star Risin' 0:30
C7 Dialogue (Carolina & Jassawa) 0:21
D1 Hundred An' One Year/M'ria 1:15
D2 Recitative: Born Black 2:12
D3 Dialogue (Jassawa) 0:08
D4 Poundin' 3:04
D5 Dialogue (John Henry & Bull Maree) 0:38
D6 The Steamdrill Race 1:32
D7 We Saved/Dialogue (Carolina) 0:26
D8 Jesus Where You Now? 2:03
D9 If I Was Jehovah 2:36
D10 On His Bones (Finale) 1:23

Companies, etc.



Cannonball Adderley's
Big Man
The Legend Of John Henry

(Airto appeared courtesy of CTI Records)

(Recorded at Fantasy Studios; Berkeley, Ca.)

1975, Fantasy® Records
Tenth and Parker
Berkeley, Ca. 94710

The sides of these records have been positioned to play in sequence on an automatic turntable.

Music; lyrics.
©1975, Bi-Circle Music (BMI) and Tri-Circle Music (ASCAP).
All rights reserved.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Rights Society: BMI, ASCAP

Other Versions (5 of 5) View All