Captain Beefheart ‎– An Ashtray Heart - Toronto Broadcast 1981

Let Them Eat Vinyl ‎– LETV040LP
2 × Vinyl, LP, Unofficial Release, Grey, Gatefold


A1 Nowadays A Woman's Gotta Hit A Man 4:03
A2 Abba Zaba 3:10
A3 Hot Head 4:14
A4 Ashtray Heart 3:16
A5 Dirty Blue Gene 3:41
B1 Best Batch Yet 5:13
B2 A Carrot Is As Close As A Rabbit Gets To A Diamond 2:14
B3 Doctor Dark 2:58
B4 Bat Chain Puller 5:45
C1 Sheriff Of Hong Kong 6:46
C2 Kandy Korn 4:51
C3 Big Eyed Beans From Venus 5:34
D1 When Big Joan Sets Up 6:18
D2 Woe Is Uh Me Bop 2:23
D3 Bellerin Plain 3:47
D4 Orange Claw Hammer 4:18
D5 Hot Head 3:14
D6 Ashtray Heart 3:44

Companies, etc.


  • Composed By [All Compositions]Van Vliet*


Originally intended to be released on Record Store Day, April 21th 2012.

Tracks A1 to C4: Commodore Ballroom, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada FM Broadcast 17.1.81
Tracks D1 to D3: Tubeworks WABX TV Detroit, 15.1.1971
Track D4: KWST FM Broadcast 1.11.1975 Radio Show with Frank Zappa
Tracks D5 & D6: Saturday Night Live, November 1980

Let Them Eat Vinyl, Avtech House, Hithercroft Road, Wallington, Oxfordshire, OX109DA, UK
Manufactured and Distributed by Plastic Head

℗ Leftfield Media 2011
© Let Them Eat Vinyl 2012

No part of this album may be reproduced without the permission of Let Them Eat Vinyl Ltd. Released under exclusive agreement with Leftfield Media.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 803341355590
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A): 99229E1/A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B): 99229E2/A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C): 99229E3/A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D): 99229E4/A