Captain Beefheart & His Magic Band* ‎– Trout Mask Replica

Straight ‎– STS 1053, Straight ‎– 2 STS 1053
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Auto-coupled, Gatefold

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Frownland 1:39
A2 The Dust Blows Forward 'N The Dust Blows Back 2:04
A3 Dachau Blues 2:21
A4 Ella Guru
Effects [Flesh Horn] – Antennae Jimmy Semens
A5 Hair Pie: Bake 1 4:57
A6 Moonlight On Vermont
Bass Guitar – Gary "Magic" Marker
B1 Pachuco Cadaver 4:37
B2 Bill's Corpse 1:47
B3 Sweet Sweet Bulbs 2:17
B4 Neon Meate Dream Of A Octafish
Horns [Simran Horn], Musette – Captain Beefheart
B5 China Pig
Guitar – Doug Moon
B6 My Human Gets Me Blues 2:42
B7 Dali's Car 1:25
C1 Hair Pie: Bake 2 2:23
C2 Pena
Lead Vocals – Antennae Jimmy Semens
C3 Well 2:05
C4 When Big Joan Sets Up 5:19
C5 Fallin' Ditch 2:03
C6 Sugar 'N Spikes 2:29
C7 Ant Man Bee
Saxophone [Simultaneous Tenor & Soprano] – Captain Beefheart
D1 Orange Claw Hammer 3:35
D2 Wild Life 3:07
D3 She's Too Much For My Mirror 1:42
D4 Hobo Chang Ba 2:01
D5 The Blimp (Mousetrap Replica)
Narrator – Antennae Jimmy SemensVoice [Intro] – Frank Zappa
D6 Steal Softly Thru Snow 2:13
D7 Old Fart At Play 1:54
D8 Veteran's Day Poppy
Bass Guitar – Gary "Magic" Marker

Companies, etc.



1st press USA issue, with auto-coupled discs, 'Straight' labels with a '2' prefix to STS 1053 cat# & the 'Straight'/'Bizarre' address on label radius text.
Vinyl in black 'Straight' liners with 'Bizarre' address.
6-page, 2-fold white paper insert printed single-color black (folds to 12"x12"), lyrics within. Front has half-tone photo of school-age Don Vliet inside a panel, with legend; "Trout Mask Replica - Captain Beefheart". Back & inner spread has line illustrations by "The Mascara Snake" [Vliet's cousin]. Inside facing-page has handwritten 'Manta Ray' poem which is under-signed 'Don Van Vliet'.

Works all contained in unlaminated gatefold sleeve.
(Pasted, no internal glue-tabs)

Errata on labels vs sleeve:
"Moonlight On Vermont" is printed wrongly as "Moonlight In Vermont" on label.
"The Blimp" is printed "The Blimb" (wrongly) & has "(Mousetrapreplica)" suffix on label.
[The intro voice is that of Zappa, recorded via a telephone link to Zappa's studio - with Antennae Jimmy Semens narrating from Vliet's script over the 'phone from the 'Magic Band house'. A field-to-studio recording, on which was resident on a tape channel the members of The Mothers performing the drum-passage to "Charles Ives" aka "Didja Get Any Onya?"]

Track A4: "Flesh Horn" is a Vliet affectation for the 'cupped hand'-to-the-mouth (hence flesh), used to create a 'vocalized horn' effect.
Tracks A6 & D8 recorded at Sunset Sound Recorders
Remaining tracks later recorded at Whitney Recording Studios (and within 'The Magic Band House')

Drummer, John 'Drumbo' French, was not credited on this album. (It is now accepted that his transcription of Beefheart's concepts/score for other band members was fundamental in its production. See notes in 'Grow Fins' box set).

One known official single was released from this album in France: Captain Beefheart & His Magic Band* - Pachuco Cadaver

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Disc 1, A-Side runout, hand-etched): 2-STS-1053-1 "P"
  • Matrix / Runout (Disc 1, D-Side runout, hand-etched): 2-STS-1053-4 P
  • Matrix / Runout (Disc 2, B-Side runout, hand-etched): 2-STS-1053-2 "P"
  • Matrix / Runout (Disc 2, C-Side runout, hand-etched): 2-STS-1053-3 "P" ?

Other Versions (5 of 71) View All


Reviews Show All 11 Reviews

Add Review



December 21, 2018
Hi, I'm looking for the sleeve of the first LP UK edition of the album STS 1053, 2 STS 1053. If someone has it send me an email : Thanks


June 20, 2018
Anyone adding that new TMR pressing? Please and thank you


June 12, 2018
It's been awfully quiet since the Third Man reissue announcement. Any Vault members got their copies?


March 10, 2018
it's a big shame that such an important and great masterpiece does not remastered propperly untill the versions list it's remastered only in 2013 under the "straight" label (zappa/cohen). it's also shame that it's impossible to get this version today.that's the prob with all those albums that are not treated and release as a hole package-one by one as it should be.
if you take one album and remaster it and release it as a "limited edition" as it happens in many
albums-then,in a few years you cant get it any more and if you can-it's big expence. i have waited many years for captain beef to be remast. recently i bouth the new remasters of 2015
(spotlight kid,clear spot,lick my decals) the albums shiny beast and doc at the radar mastered
in 2006. it's important to know that the captain had a two different bands in those day's-one is
c.b.and the magic band and the other is c.b. and his magic band. the last one is the one that we talk about-doe's not treat well until today-hopefuly that'll change!!


May 7, 2015
edited over 2 years ago
Great album. Gets better every listen. Sounds even better on a nice stereo, 10/10


December 7, 2014
Frank Zappa found the true meaning of 'freak out' when he booked studio time to record this album. The band came in fully prepared for the backing tracks and laid 'em down in just about one take each. Rigourously practised (drilled might be a better word) for months on end the musicians had the material absolutely DOWN.
Zappa's face must have been picture... his jaw purportedly dropped to the floor as they rattled off the tracks, pitch perfect, in just a few hours. Much as I like Zappa - he never made anything that comes within a million light years of TMR. It's completely off the map for a lot of people - but its reputation will continue to grow, no doubt about that, as one of the greatest 20th century works of art.


May 29, 2013
edited over 5 years ago

Nothing to add ! Simply the best album ever. Fascinating & jouissive, indefatigable and unclassifiable. So raw, so rich, so weird, so complex : definitively out of time !!