Captain Beefheart & The Magic Band ‎– Lick My Decals Off, Baby

Straight ‎– C 062-92 092, Straight ‎– 6E 062 92092
Vinyl, LP, Album, Stereo


A1 Lick My Decals Off, Baby 2:38
A2 Doctor Dark 2:46
A3 I Love You, You Big Dummy 2:54
A4 Peon 2:24
A5 Bellerin' Plain 3:35
A6 Woe-Is-Uh-Me-Bop 2:06
A7 Japan In A Dishpan 3:00
B1 I Wanna Find A Woman That'll Hold My Big Toe Till I Have To Go 1:53
B2 Petrified Forest 1:40
B3 One Red Rose That I Mean 1:52
B4 The Buggy Boogie Woogie 2:19
B5 The Smithsonian Institute Blues (Or The Big Dig) 2:11
B6 Space-Age Couple 2:32
B7 The Clouds Are Full Of Wine (Not Whiskey Or Rye) 2:50
B8 Flash Gordon's Ape 4:57



Original 'Straight' 1970 - Made In Denmark: Released on unfamiliar Silver on Black 'Straight' label (Unique to Denmark.)

Sleeve: Similar in design to German release altho' there is a unique, square "Straight" sticker in bottom right corner, almost certainly covering the printed "Straight" logo (ie. 'Straight' in a bubble above a 'smoking' cigarrette.) Cat.# on back cover (top right) is followed by a squared D. The 'Decals' poem and painting by Van Vliet is printed on back cover.

Label: Silver on Black 'Straight' label.
At 3-0-Clock - "Stereo", Cat# and both label sides state 'A' + 'B' as well as 'Side 1' and 'Side 2'
At 9-0-Clock - All rights reserved / Made In Denmark / NCB / 1970.

NB: It should be noted that 'all' Track-Timings printed on the labels are completely 'different' to the timings printed on the back cover. Also, there are a couple of spelling errors on Track-Titles. [ie. "I Love You, You Big Dummy" becomes "Love You, You Big Dummy" and "Flash Gordon's Ape" interestingly becomes "Flack Gordon's Ape"]

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side 1: Label): 6E 062 92092-A
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 2: Label): 6E 062 92092-B
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 1: Stamped): 92092 A-2
  • Matrix / Runout (Side 2: Stamped): 92092 B-2
  • Rights Society: NCB