Carole King ‎– Simple Things

Avatar Records (8) ‎– SMAS-11667, Capitol Records ‎– SMAS-11667
Vinyl, LP, Album, Los Angeles Pressing, Gatefold


A1 Simple Things 2:38
A2 Hold On 4:35
A3 In The Name Of Love 3:04
A4 Labyrinth 4:04
A5 You're The One Who Knows 5:04
B1 Hard Rock Cafe 3:45
B2 Time Alone 2:38
B3 God Only Knows 6:18
B4 To Know That I Love You 3:30
B5 One 5:02

Companies, etc.



Capitol Records Pressing Plant, Los Angeles pressing per "✲" stamps in runouts.

Canvas-textured gatefold cover, issued with custom lyric inner sleeve. and custom labels.

Labels display only Capitol logos, but rimtext and back cover read "Avatar Records, Manufactured And Distributed By Capitol Records, Inc."

All songs published by Colgems -EMI
Music Inc. (ASCAP)

A&M and Sound Labs - recording and mixing / Los Angeles - April and May 1977

Printed in U.S.A.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Matrix A, on label): SMAS1-11667
  • Matrix / Runout (Matrix B, on label): SMAS2-11667
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout A etched / 3 ✲ stamped): SMAS-1-11667 Z2• 3 ✲
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout B etched / 4 ✲ stamped): SMAS-2-11667 Z3•• 4 ✲
  • Rights Society: ASCAP

Other Versions (5 of 38) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
4XW 11667, 4XW-11667 Carole King Simple Things(Cass, Album) Capitol Records, Capitol Records 4XW 11667, 4XW-11667 Canada 1977 Sell This Version
SMAS-11667 Carole King Simple Things(LP, Album, Win) Avatar Records (8), Capitol Records SMAS-11667 US 1977 Sell This Version
ST-11667 Carole King Simple Things(LP, Album) Capitol Records ST-11667 Australia 1977 Sell This Version
KC 144 Carole King Simple Things(Cass, Album, Unofficial) KC (5) KC 144 Unknown Sell This Version
33601 Carole King Simple Things(CD, Album) Rockingale Records 33601 US 2012 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



April 18, 2020

“Simple Things” was released in 1977. King established her own label Avatar Records; and therefore had increased artistic freedom. While other albums sold better, for me this is her crowning achievement. The rocker “Hard Rock Café” received the radio play. “Hold On” is an anthem of hope with stinging electric guitar, “Hold on until we can get there; you know when we get there, all the dark forces will be gone.” “In the Name of Love” is another astounding song with King’s vocals starting gently and building until the end, “Birth and life and death makes a circle we are all part of; To see the light everlasting, live in the name of love. Forever.” The album concludes with one of my very favorite songs. On “One” Carole is joined on backing vocals by her daughters Louise and Sherry Goffin, “Open your heart and let the love come shining through; And you will do what you need to do to know just where the other ‘you’ is coming from; He is one – She is one – A tree is one – the earth is one – the universe is one – I am one… Be one.” This is one of my very favorite albums. Enjoy!


November 28, 2016

Not as good as it could have been; not as bad as people think it was. Could do with less hippy-trippy spiritualism in the lyrics, but when she rocked, it was still good :)