Caroline McKenzie ‎– the drowning of ophelia

Not On Label ‎– none
14 × File, MP3, Album, Stereo


1 night falls fast 10:27
2 lambs call her down 22:29
3 blistered in the heart 17:30
4 incapable of her own distress 13:12
5 the drowning of ophelia 43:49
6 pulseless 14:03
7 clear-light 11:41
8 a sharpening 11:45
9 the airlock 16:11
10 absolution 20:31
11 ...but the tide delivered her home 12:58
12 the valley by night (winter) 18:15
13 beyond solar dawn 25:02
14 the clearest light 6:14


"the drowning of ophelia" is a song cycle of death, redemption and rebirth.

the pianos were recorded at The Mitchell Library, Glasgow with all other sounds - computer, synthesiser, guitar, radio, voice, walkman, monotron, and apps - recorded at home from mid March though to late October 2017 except the guitar on the title track which was recorded circa 1998.


the original version of "the valley by night" was recorded in 2013 and issued by Dreamdark on the compilation 'A Summer Solstice' as "the valley by night (autumn)". this (winter) version was completed July 2017.