Caustic Window ‎– Compilation

Rephlex ‎– CAT 009 CD
CD, Compilation


1 Joyrex J4 4:30
2 AFX 114 1:21
3 Cordialatron 4:44
4 Italic Eyeball 4:25
5 Pigeon Street 0:23
6 Astroblaster 5:29
7 On The Romance Tip 5:06
8 Joyrex J5 6:54
9 Fantasia 6:02
10 Humanoid Must Not Escape 5:42
11 Clayhill Dub 3:24
12 The Garden Of Linmiri 6:10
13 We Are The Music Makers (Hardcore Mix) 3:59

Companies, etc.



A full (slower) version of the drone track that can just about be heard in the mix of The Garden Of Linmiri can be found on the AFX - Analogue Bubblebath Vol. 3 CD release as CD Track 11.

13 classic Braindance™ tunes from Cornwall.
Formerly available on Vinyl only... now on CD!
Proudly presented by REPHLEX (CAT 009 CD)
Pub'd by Chrysalis Music. Made in England.
REPHLEX, POB 2676, London N11.
(0)181 361 2811.
(Richard made in Ireland.)
Also available as AFX / Polygon Window etc.
Proudly presented by The James Family,
e.g :-

Distributed in the UK by Vital (0)181 324 2400
℗ © 1993 Rephlex

Issued in a jewel case with clear tray and a fold out insert.
EFA distribution code only to be found on sticker (back cover).

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 5 027238 000928 >
  • Barcode (Scanner): 5027238000928
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1, 2, 3, 4): CAT009CD 02 & MADE IN UK BY PMDC
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 1, 2, 3, 4): IFPI L134
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 0448
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 0445
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 3): IFPI 0400
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 4): IFPI 0485

Other Versions (5 of 10) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
CAT 009 LP Caustic Window Compilation(3x12", Comp) Rephlex CAT 009 LP UK 1998 Sell This Version
CAT 009 LP Caustic Window Compilation(3x12", Comp, RE) Rephlex CAT 009 LP UK 2002 Sell This Version
CAT 009 CD Caustic Window Compilation(CD, Comp, RP) Rephlex CAT 009 CD UK Unknown Sell This Version
CAT 009 LP Caustic Window Compilation(3x12", Comp, RE) Rephlex CAT 009 LP UK 2007 Sell This Version
AICT 33 Caustic Window Compilation(CD, Comp) SMEJ Associated Records AICT 33 Japan 1998 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



October 4, 2003

Classic Richard D. James! No matter if you like "hard" electronic music or not, this album is worth owning. Some will find some of the tracks to be overly repetitive ("We are the Music Makers [Hardcore Mix]" and "The Garden Of Linmiri" particulary), but superb tracks like "On The Romance Tip", "Astroblaster", and the short-but-cute "Pigeon Street" make up for those.


August 5, 2001
edited over 16 years ago

Release for die-hard fans first. Redefined the words harsh and weird in 1992. For sure one of Richard D. James'lesser known works. Originally released on Rephlex as Joyrex J4 (CAT004), J5 (CAT005) and J9 (CAT009).
There's a bit of everything here really. CAT005 was the most melodic (beautiful) of the three. CAT004 also features some slower tracks (though nothing here with the quality of Selected Ambient Works Vol.I). CAT009 is pure acidstyle hardcore but unfortunately a bit overly repetitive for my taste.

If you're looking for more records in this style (with a somewhat similar feel), check out Frost Jockey's 'Burgundi Trax vol I& II' on Planet µ or Mike Paradinas' earlier work ('Bluff Limbo' in particular if you like chainsaws through your speakers!).

For those of you owning the Rephlex-reissue of this material, I would advise to get those vinyls out of those plastic sleeves ASAP!!! Seems like the plastic starts interacting with the vinyl in a nasty chemical way that could (and will!) damage your records as far as I can tell!! No good reason to let thát happen, now is there?