Chapeaucornu ‎– Chapeaucornu - Reflets De La Musique Ancienne

Prodisc (5) ‎– PS 3733
Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Improvisations Du Matin 3:22
Présence Du Moyen-Âge (14:15)
A2 Haec Dies (Motet À Trois Voix)
Composed By – Unknown Artist
A3 Haec Dies (Organum)
Adapted By – H. HusmanComposed By – Léonin
A4 Alle Psallite Cum Luya (Motet)
Composed By – Unknown Artist
A5 Organum (Extrait)
Composed By – Pérotin
A6 J'ai Fait Une Maîtresse
Written By – Chanson Populaire*
A7 Alle Psallite Cum Luya (Motet)
Composed By – Unknown Artist
A8 Post Partum (Motet)
Composed By – Unknown Artist
A9 Postlude (Vielle)
A10 Je Chante Pour Passer Le Temps
Lyrics By – Louis AragonMusic By – Léo Ferré
A11 Franc Cueur (Rondeau À Trois Voix)
Composed By – Guillaume Dufaÿ*
B1 Estampie
Composed By – Unknown Artist
B2 Bon Vin Doit (Roman de F.A.U.V.E.L.) 0:40
B3 In Arboris (Motet Isorythmique)
Composed By – Philippe De Vitry
Danses De Phalèse (11:15)
B4 Allemande Bizarde
B5 Allemande Poussinghe
B6 Saltarello
B7 Ballo Inglese
B8 Marazula
B9 Ungaresca
B10 Saltarello
B11 Improvisations Du Soir
Written By – Danse Populaire*
B12 Movete Al Mio Bel (Madrigal)
Composed By – Claudio Monteverdi
B13 Now, O Now I Needs Must Part
Composed By – John Dowland
B14 Haec (Motet À Trois Voix)
Composed By – Unknown Artist


Has an 21x29,5 cm grey insert where each track is commented.


Add Review



February 5, 2014
This album was recorded during a music workshop dedicated to medieval music that took place at the old Chapeau Cornu – means "Horned Hat" – castle not far from Lyon during the summer of 1972. The participants, beginners or experienced musiciens, were 30 in number and the team composed of five confirmed musicians among whom René Zosso, yet to become a world-known figure of medieval music.
The goal here was clearly to overcome the constraints of written – too much written – music and of "genuine" instrumentation : some space was left for free improvisation and modern and ancient instruments were used indifferently : hurdy gurdy and cello, positive organ and harpsichord, a set of carpenter’s nails as a gamelan and a cardboard barrel as a drum. All tracks were recorded live, and some with an audience. The result is varied and refreshing, making this music sound much more colloquial than it uses to. This record also has a "curiosity": a cover –medieval of course - of "Je Chante Pour Passer Le Temps", a poem by Louis Aragon, set to music by Léo Ferré… just strings and voice… awesome !
Those were the days… The Chapeau-Cornu ("more or less comfortable", as written on the back of the cover) has now become into a luxury hotel with canopy beds in the rooms…