Charles Mingus ‎– Mingus Ah Um

Legacy ‎– CK 65512
CD, Album, Reissue, Remastered


1 Better Git It In Your Soul 7:23
2 Goodbye Pork Pie Hat 5:44
3 Boogie Stop Shuffle 5:02
4 Self Portrait In Three Colours 3:10
5 Open Letter To Duke 5:51
6 Bird Calls 6:17
7 Fables Of Faubus 8:13
8 Pussy Cat Dues 9:14
9 Jelly Roll 6:17
10 Pedal Point Blues 6:30
11 GG Train 4:39
12 Girl Of My Dreams 4:08

Companies, etc.



Recorded at 30th Street Studio, NYC
May 5, 1959 (1, 6-10)
May 12, 1959 (2-5, 11, 12)
Originally Released 1959
Tracks 2, 3, 5, 6 first time on CD in unedited form
Tracks 10-12 not on original LP

20 bit Remaster

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 0 7464-65512-2 6
  • Matrix / Runout: DIDP-095450 03 1A 05

Other Versions (5 of 95) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
CL 1370 Charles Mingus Mingus Ah Um(LP, Album, Mono) Columbia CL 1370 US 1959 Sell This Version
S 62260, S 62 260, S 62.260, (CS 8171) Charles Mingus Mingus Ah Um(LP, Album) CBS, CBS, CBS, CBS S 62260, S 62 260, S 62.260, (CS 8171) France Unknown Sell This Version
BBL 7352, BBL.7352 Charles Mingus Mingus Ah Um(LP, Album) Philips, Philips BBL 7352, BBL.7352 UK 1959 Sell This Version
88697 48010 2 Charles Mingus Mingus Ah Um (50th Anniversary 2-CD Deluxe Set)(CD, Album, RE + CD, Album, Enh, RE + Comp) Columbia, Legacy 88697 48010 2 Europe 2009 Sell This Version
CK 40648 Charles Mingus Mingus Ah Um(CD, Album, Club, RE, RM, RP) Columbia CK 40648 US Unknown Sell This Version



Add Review



April 8, 2008
This is definatly a classic Mingus album but it's not my favorite overall. There's some awesome tracks, like Better Git It In Your Soul, Boogie Stop Shuffle (My personal fav), and the bonus track GG Train is simply awesome. This album is a great one for that long drive and if you want to show anyone new to jazz a great album with some soul then this is one to give them. I think out of any artist on this discs lineup Dannie Richmond is the best. He's one of the most under-rated drummers of his time I think and he helps carry some of these tracks very well and seems to play with ease. My problem with the CD reissue is that some of the tracks are the unedited ones and I actually think there's a mistake in the track Bird Calls where someone blows their horn a bit early. Not sure. I think in this case I'd prefer the original LP over the CD reissue but the bonus tracks are pretty great.