Chaya Czernowin ‎– Shu Hai Practices Javelin

Mode ‎– mode 117
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Six Miniatures And A Simultaneous Song
Alto Saxophone – Timothy O'Dwyer*Bass Clarinet – Brian CatchloveCello – John ToobyConductor – Simon HewettEdited By – Jim AtkinsEngineer [Recording] – Jim Atkins, Michael HewesEnsemble – Elision EnsembleFlute [Bass] – Paula RaeGuitar – Geoffrey Morris (2)Producer – Daryl BuckleySoprano Vocals – Deborah KayserViola – Erkki Veltheimalto*
Shu Hai In An Orchestral Setting
Conductor – Johannes KalitzkeOrchestra – Basel SinfoniettaVoice [Live And Recorded] – Ute Wassermann
2 First Orchetral Entrance 4:57
3 First Vocal Entrance 5:59
4 Second Orchestal Entrance 4:41
5 Second Vocal Entrance 13:59
Shu Hai Mitamen Behatalat Kidon
Edited By [Further Editing] – Joe Kucera*Engineer [Recording] – Andreas Werner (4)Voice – Ute Wassermann
6 First Movement 13:12
7 Second Movement 18:25

Companies, etc.



"Six miniatures and a simultaneous song" (1998) for a trio of guitar, viola & guitar, and a quartet of bass flute, bass clarinet, alto saxophone and cello. This piece is dedicated to ensemble Elision.
"Shu Hai in an orchestral setting" (2000-01) for voice, nine recorded versions of the same voice on tape, orchestra and live electronics. This piece is dedicated to Dieter Schnebel.
"Shu Hai Mitamen Behatalat Kidon" (1996-97) for solo female voice, nine versions of the same voice on tape, and live electronics. This piece is dedicated to Ute Wassermann.

Track 1 recorded at the Judith Wright Centre of Contemporary Art, Brisbane, Australia, 2002.
Tracks 2 to 5 recorded at the Experimental Studios of Heinrich Strobel Stiftung of SWR, Germany, 1999.
Track 6 and 7 recorded live at the Dampfcentrale, Bern, Switzerland, during the Biennale Bern 2001.

24-page booklet includes liner notes in English, German and French.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 7 64593 01172 9