The Chemical Brothers ‎– B-Sides Volume 1

Virgin ‎– 5099951401351
10 × File, MP3, Compilation, 320 kbps


1 Nude Night 6:19
2 Base 6 6:34
3 Clip Kiss 6:58
4 The Diamond Sky 3:37
5 H.I.A. 7:11
6 Let Me In Mate 4:19
7 Prescription Beats 5:13
8 Scale 3:43
9 Silver Drizzle 6:25
10 Snooprah 7:15



Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



April 10, 2009
I find most Chemical Brothers albums to be a mixed bag - a few brilliant tracks, and some tracks which don't quite match those, with nothing in between. This collection of B-sides is no exception, with the 4 best tracks forming the first 2 and last 2 tracks of the album.

'Nude Night' opens the album, starting off slowly building, then the bass kicks in, and turns it into a proper dance track. 'Base 6' follws suit, a track which never fails to put a smile on my face. Then unfortunately there are 6 tracks which, to me, don't quite measure up. Out of the many B-sides the Brothers could have chosen to put on this compilation, they happened to choose a selection of my least favourite. Instead of 'Scale' I would have much preferred 'Flashback' off the Hey Boy, Hey Girl single, and the awesome B-side to The Boxer, 'Swiper', to replace another one of the filler tracks.

Fortunately for the album the last two tracks are the best of the bunch. 'Silver Drizzle' starts off not very promising, but as soon as the synths kick in the track gains a euphoria only rivalled by 'Saturate'. The final track, Snooprah stands amongst my all-time favourite Chemical Brothers tracks, possibly one of my favourite tracks of all time. In case you hadn't noticed from the title, it is a lengthened version of the beautiful 'Harpoons' and is absolutely brilliant in every way.