Chet Faker ‎– Built On Glass

Future Classic ‎– FCL107, Opulent Records (2) ‎– FCL107
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Release Your Problems 3:12
2 Talk Is Cheap 3:38
3 No Advice (Airport Version) 1:45
4 Melt
Featuring – Kilo Kish
5 Gold 4:45
6 To Me 5:14
7 / 0:18
8 Blush 4:47
9 1998 6:05
10 Cigarettes & Loneliness 7:52
11 Lesson In Patience 5:45
12 Dead Body
Guitar, Soloist – CLEOPOLD

Companies, etc.



Released as a gatefold digipak, with WARNING sticker on front.

P & C 2014 Future Classic. Distributed by Warner Music Australia Pty Ltd in Australia & New Zealand.

All songs written, recorded, performed and produced at North Melbourne meat market studio.

Published by Mushroom Music (AUS/NZ), Cut Craft/Imagem (rest of world).

Disc has CD Text.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (String): 3610154972008
  • Barcode (Text): 3 610154 972008
  • Mastering SID Code: ifpi LR11
  • Mould SID Code: ifpi K413
  • Matrix / Runout: FCL107 6141019602 [SM logo]

Other Versions (5 of 14) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
FCL107 Chet Faker Built On Glass(CD, Album, Promo, car) Future Classic, Opulent Records (2) FCL107 Australia & New Zealand 2014 Sell This Version
FCL107 Chet Faker Built On Glass(12xFile, MP3, Album) Future Classic, Opulent Records (2) FCL107 Australia & New Zealand 2014
DWT70382 Chet Faker Built On Glass(2xLP, Album, Ltd, RP, Pin) Downtown DWT70382 US 2015 Sell This Version
none Chet Faker Built On Glass(CDr, Album, Promo, Wat) Future Classic none UK 2014 Sell This Version
201 Chet Faker Built On Glass(CD, Album, Dig) Future Classic, DBN 201 Argentina 2014 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



March 15, 2018
The more i listened to it the more i got bored...
It's a mediocre record in my not so very humble opinion.


July 20, 2015
CHET FAKER – Built on Glass

From the east side to the west side (of the Internet), Nick Murphy a.k.a. Chet Faker shook things up in 2011 with his No Diggity cover and has been riding the hype machine ever since. Having only an EP to his name, Chet Faker went on to win several awards and collaborated with one of the top deep house producers in Australia, Flume, on Lockjaw, an EP that leaves listeners calling out for more from the duo.

Murphy’s roots lie in his mother’s affinity for Motown grooves and his father’s habit of spinning chill-out tracks around the house, which comes full circle in the first Chet Faker LP, Built on Glass. The mellow and down-tempo production married with R&B affections and yearning melodies combine to create a stand out record to be embraced. Murphy shows all of his colors through the versatility of his tracks. The warmth of Murphy’s vocals throughout tracks like Release your Problems and Cigarettes & Loneliness hold your hand through the soulful melancholy surrounding the songs. The exceptionally complex, brilliant and technically perfected track Talk is Cheap is a layered house song that dives into warm waters of brass instrumentals and mood setting vocals that make you feel right at home. Melt comes infused with sizzling vocals from Brooklyn’s own Kilo Kish partnered with precisely executed dub-bass drops, while To Me is a bluesy tune laced with a gloomy base line (and also a vinylmnky favorite).

The dexterity of this album comes from not only what Murphy decides to put in to it, but also in what he decides to leave out. The empty spaces within the tracks are perfectly and deliberately spaced around the notes and the overall finesse of the album makes for a debut record to be rivaled.