Chumbawamba ‎– English Rebel Songs 1381-1984

PM Press ‎– PMA 001-2, Trade Root Music ‎– Root-CD-0004
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 The Cutty Wren
2 The Diggers Song
3 Colliers March
4 The Triumph Of General Ludd
5 Chartist Anthem
6 The Bad Squire
7 Song On The Times
8 Smashing Of The Van
9 World Turned Upside Down
10 Poverty Knock
11 Idris Strike Song
12 Hanging On The Old Barbed Wire
13 The Cutty Wren
14 Coal Not Dole
Written-By – Kay Sutcliffe, Matt Fox*



English Rebel Songs was originally recorded in 1988. At the time we were determined to stir up a rout in our tiny anarcho-punk community by swapping guitars and drums for acapella singing, inspired by groups like Swan Arcade, the Watersons and the Wilson Family. Now, fifteen years later, we felt we'd learned enough about our voices to try again, updating and rearranging the songs against a backdrop of US/British warmongering. The songs were discovered in songbooks and in folk clubs and on cassette tapes, chopeed and changed and bludgeoned into shape with utmost respect for the original tunes.

Recorded amid the chaos at Shabby Road Studios, January 2001

Chumbawamba on this recording includes the usual bunch plus the deep-voiced and always hugely entertaining Simon Lanzon.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5055119300423

Other Versions (5 of 9) View All