Ravel*, City of Birmingham Symphony Chorus & Orchestra, Sir Simon Rattle ‎– Ravel: Daphnis et Chloé - Boléro

EMI Classics ‎– 7243 5 74584 2 9
CD, Album


1 Introduction - Sacred Dance 8:21
2 The Young Girls Attract Daphnis's Attention And Surround Him With Their Dancing - General Dance 3:15
3 Grotesque Dance (Dorcon) 1:45
4 Light And Graceful Dance (Daphnis) 2:57
5 All Invite Daphnis To Receive The Prize - Lyceion's Dance 3:29
6 The Clash Of Arms Is Heard, Warlike Cries Draw Nearer... Women Cross The Stage, Pursued By Pirates... Mad With Despair, Daphnis Curses The Gods Who Have Failed To Protect The Young Girl Chloe, And Falls Fainting At The Entrance To The Grotto. 1:45
7 A Strange Light Envelops The Countryside... Slow, Mysterious Dance... The Three Nymphs Invoke The God Pan... Daphnis Bows Down In Supplication. The Light Grows Dim. 5:29
8 Interlude. The Pirate Camp 6:19
9 Bryaxis Calls For The Captured Girl To Be Brought Forward. Chloe, Her Hadns Tied Is Dragged In By Two Pirates. Chloe Dances Beseechingly. 4:02
10 Bryaxis Tries To Bear Her Away... But The Pirate Chief Carries Her Off In Triumph... Suddenly The Air Seems Charged With Strange Forces... The Earth Opens Up... The Fearsome Shadow Of Pan Is Silhouetted Against The Mountains. They All Flee In Panic. 2:42
11 Daybreak 5:25
12 The Old Shepherd Lammon Explains That, If Pan Has Saved Chloe, It Is In Memory Of The Nymph Syrinx, Once Beloved Of The God. Their Story Is Mimed By Daphnis And Chloe. 6:51
13 Before The Altar Of The Nymphs He Swears Eternal Fidelity Over Two Ewes... Enter A Group Of Girls Dressed As Bachantes... Daphnis And Chloe Embrace Tenderly... Tumultuous Joy - General Dance 5:05
14 Boléro 16:15


City of Birmingham Symphony Chorus (Chorus Master: Simon Halsey)
City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra conducted by Sir Simon Rattle

Recorded XII.1990, Butterworth Hall, University of Warwick

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 724357458429