Clawfinger ‎– Use Your Brain

MVG Records ‎– MVG 121
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Power 3:14
2 Pay The Bill 4:20
3 Pin Me Down 4:10
4 Wipe My Ass 3:13
5 Die High 2:34
6 It 5:21
7 Do What I Say
Vocals [Additional] – Cederic St. Just, Sebastian St. Just
8 Undone 4:11
9 What Are You Afraid Of 3:47
10 Back To The Basics 2:27
11 Easy Way Out 2:39
12 Tomorrow 4:09

Companies, etc.


Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 7391946067572
  • Label Code: LC 8433
  • Rights Society: BIEM/NCB
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): [DCM logo] 15030109 MVG 121
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): [DCM logo] 25030113 MVG 121
  • Mastering SID Code: ifpi L051

Other Versions (5 of 26) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
MVG150 Clawfinger Use Your Brain(CD, Album, Enh, RE, RM) MVG Records MVG150 Sweden 2004 Sell This Version
MOFR 00153 Clawfinger Use Your Brain(CD, Album, RE, Unofficial) Monsters Of Rock MOFR 00153 Russia 2002 Sell This Version
0058 Clawfinger Use Your Brain(Cass, Album, Unofficial) Kuguar Records 0058 Ukraine Unknown Sell This Version
274 Clawfinger Use Your Brain(Cass, Album, Unofficial) Music World (2) 274 Russia 1995 Sell This Version
PCW-661, 4509-99340-4 Clawfinger Use Your Brain(Cass, Album) Polton, WEA PCW-661, 4509-99340-4 Poland 1995 Sell This Version



Add Review



May 12, 2018

1995’s ‘Use Your Brain’ is the second album by Swedish rap rockers Clawfinger. It follows in the same vein as its predecessor, ‘Deaf Dumb Blind’, with similar compositions and a nearly identical sound, but it seems to lack the same youthful exuberance that made the latter such an engaging listen.

Mixing rapping vocals with metal guitar riffs long before the likes of Limp Bizkit and Linkin Park gained worldwide fame, Clawfinger’s groove-laden music has always been about uncompromising, in-your-face attitude. With a dirty, gritty sound, and lyrics that spit in the face of political correctness, they’ve never been afraid to put themselves on the line.

Utilizing simple, yet striking guitar work with electronic samples, the band have an effective and fairly distinctive sound. Vocalist Zak Tell’s rapid fire delivery, which blends rapping with hardcore and punk rock elements, goes well with the music, and certainly paints a picture of an angry and frustrated band.

But unfortunately, ‘Use Your Brain’ just simply isn’t as good as the band’s debut. While it’s not a bad album, ‘Deaf Dumb Blind’ was consistently strong throughout, while here, we’re treated to a few moments of sheer genius being smothered by an abundance of filler material. But despite the weaker tracks, songs like ‘Power’, ‘Die High’, ‘Do What I Say’ and ‘Pay the Bill’ are all strong enough to stand next to anything the band have done before, and are all good reasons to at least give this album a chance.