Coil ‎– Gold Is The Metal (With The Broadest Shoulders)

Threshold House ‎– LOCI 1
Vinyl, LP

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 The Last Rites Of Spring 1:53
A2 Paradisiac 2:21
A3 Thump 3:15
A4 For Us They Will 4:46
A5 The Broken Wheel
Recorded By, Mixed By – Coil, Jim Thirlwell*
A6 Boy In A Suitcase
Brass – Andrew PoppyVocals – Sleazy
A7 Golden Hole 2:20
B1 Cardinal Points
Arranged By [Strings] – Billy McGee
B2 Red Slur 3:05
B3 ...Of Free Enterprise 0:31
B4 Aqua Regalia
Strings – Richard Fur-Verge
B5 Metal In The Head 2:06
B6 Either His Or Yours 2:51
B7 Chickenskin 2:42
B8 Soundtrap 0:37
B9 The First Five Minutes After Violent Death 4:58

Companies, etc.



Copyright Control
Made in England
Recorded live at Bar Maldoror, others at various other times and locations.

From the liner notes: "This release is not the follow-up to Horse Rotorvator... but a completely separate package - a stopgap and a breathing space - the space between two twins. Presented here are thoroughbreds that escaped the Horse Rotorvator - discarded shards, distortions, disappointments, scrambled and disassembled stages. Remnants of what once was. This record is a chance for us to release some otherwise placeless pieces of music.

Released in five different editions:

1) 2000 copies on black vinyl.

2) Coloured vinyl edition, with some copies including "The Wheel/The Wheal" bonus 7" (LOCI 2). One source says this edition was limited to 900 copies, some on red vinyl and some on clear. A second source states that it was limited to 650 copies, 150 on red vinyl and 500 clear.

3) 25 copies on red vinyl in an unfinished sleeve. All copies include "The Wheel/The Wheal" 7".

4) A deluxe boxed edition limited to 55 copies, each containing the album, The Wheel/The Wheal" 7" single, and numerous art prints, posters and inserts.

5) 23 copies sold via mail order in 2001, each having gold leaf applied to the front cover and including a numbered and signed certificate.

This album was also issued in Germany by Normal Records in 1990.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A, etchings): Me And My Shadow MPO LOCI- 1 A¹
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B, etchings): Underneath All That Ever Was.. MPO LOCI 1 B¹

Other Versions (5 of 19) View All


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



August 6, 2016
Horse Rotorvator demos. Mostly irrelevant in the shadow of Coil's surrounding work, it's worth a listen through. A couple tracks are even keepers: Cardinal Points and Hellraiser.