Connee Boswell* And The Boswell Sisters ‎– On The Air

Totem Records (7) ‎– 1025
Vinyl, LP, Compilation

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 The Object Of My Affection
A2 Dinah
A3 If Love Came Wrapped In Cellophane
Vocals [Uncredited] – Rudy Vallee
A4 Don't Forget
Vocals [Uncredited] – Rudy Vallee
A5 I Can't Give You Anything But Love, Baby
Soloist [Solo Tunes By] – Connee*
A6 When I'm With You
A7 These Foolish Things
A8 Until The Real Thing Comes Along
B1 Silver Threads Among The Gold
B2 Manhattan
Vocals [Duets With] – Connee*, John Scott*
B3 I Hear A Rhapsody
Soloist [Solo Tunes By] – Connee*
B4 Amapola
Soloist [Solo Tunes By] – Connee*
B5 Gay Ranchero
Soloist [Solo Tunes By] – Connee*
B6 Time Was
Vocals [Duets With] – Connee*, Don Ameche
B7 Maria Elena



©℗ 1977. Totem Records

A1, A2, A3, A4. (January 24, 1935)
A5, A6, A7, A8. (1936)
B1, B2, B3. (February 13, 1941)
B4. (March 20, 1941)
B5. (June 19, 1941)
B6. (August 7, 1941)
B7. (October 2, 1941)

Connee Boswell and the Boswell Sisters appears on sleeve, Connee Boswell & The Boswell Sisters appears on labels.

Back of sleeve:
"The Object Of My Affection" was recorded by the sisters (Brunswick 7348) on December 10, 1934 and "Dinah" (Brunswick 7412) on December 13, 1934. The tunes, "If Love Came Wrapped In Cellophane" and "Don't Forget" were never commercially recorded by them. The first tune has some noise for the last part of the song due to a defective disc that was beyond repair - the defect, however, does not detract from the superb performance and rendition.

Of the solo tunes by Connee, "I Can't Give You Anything But Love, Baby" was recorded August 26, 1935 (French Decca F-42108) and again on June 24, 1940 (American Decca 3287); "I Hear A Rhapsody" (Decca 3615) and "Amapola" (Decca 3631) were both recorded January 16, 1941; and, finally, "Gay Ranchero" was recorded March 27, 1941 (Decca 3858). The other tunes were not recorded by Connee.

The first four tunes are from a Fleischman broadcast with orchestral accompaniment by Rudy Vallee; the last four tunes on side one are accompanied by Freddy Rich & His Orchestra. All the tunes on side two are from Kraft Music Hall broadcasts with orchestra by John Scott Trotter. In fact, John Scott duets with Connee on "Manhattan" and later she is joined in duet by Don Ameche on "Time Was". A few minor clicks are heard due to broken glass original disc on the tune "Maria Elena".

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side 1): Totem-1025 Side -1-
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side 2): Totem 1025 Side 2