Cowboy Junkies ‎– The Nomad Series

Diverse Records ‎– DIVBOX001
5 × Vinyl, LP, 180 Gram
Vinyl, 12"
Box Set, Compilation, Limited Edition


A1 Intro
A2 Renmin Park
A3 Sir Francis Bacon At The Net
A4 Stranger Here
A5 A Few Bags Of Grain
A6 I Cannot Sit Sadly By Your Side
A7 (You´ve Got To Get) A Good Heart
B1 Cicadas
B2 Interlude
B3 My Fall
B4 Little Dark Heart
B5 A Walk In The Park
B6 Renmin Park (Revisted)
B7 Coda
C1 Wrong Piano
C2 Flirted With You All My Life
C3 See You Around
C4 Betty Lonely
C5 Square Room
D1 Ladle
D2 Supernatural
D3 West Of Rome
D4 Strange Language
D5 We Hovered With Short Wings
D6 When The Bottom Fell Out
E1 Continental Drift
E2 It´s Heavy Down Here
E3 3rd Crusade
E4 Late Night Radio
F1 Sing In My Meadow
F2 Hunted
F3 A Bride´s Price
F4 I Move On
G1 Unanswered Letter (For J B)
G2 Idle Tales
G3 We Are The Selfish Ones
G4 Angel In The Wilderness
G5 Damaged From The Start
H1 Fairytale
H2 Staring Man
H3 The Confession Of Georgie E
H4 I Let Him In
H5 Fuck, I Hate The Cold
I1 My Boy Burns
I2 The Girl Behind The Man Behind The Gun
I3 Old Hotel
I4 Marathon
I5 Punching Holes Through
J1 Sad Peter Pan
J2 Demons
J3 Guilty By Association
J4 Forthright
J5 Stay Inside
K1 Spiral Down
K2 Follower 2
L1 My Little Basquiat
L2 Mountain


Limited edition of only 200 copies worldwide!

(5-LP + 12'' + Booklet) In 2011 the Cowboy Junkies embarked on their most ambitious project yet, to write and record 4 albums in 18 months. It was called The Nomad Series. Each album had its own individual style and feel. The first instalment, Renmin Park was influenced by Michael Timmins' trip to China with his family. Volume 2, Demons was an album of Vic Chesnutt cover versions and a tribute to their late friend. Sing In My Meadow was a louder, more guitar heavy album and the fourth and last in the series, The Wilderness was a group of songs that the band had written and had been playing live throughout this process and it was released in March 2012.
Once the project was finished, the band realised they had songs that haven't quite made the four albums that were too good to keep hidden. This 5th LP Extras consists of ten songs constituting a full album in the same embossed outer sleeve and printed inner that Volumes 1 to 4 have come in.

The box is completed by a live 4 track bonus 12'' that includes live tracks from At The End Of Paths Taken, songs that aren't on the CD box set. There is also a 12'' x 12'' booklet compiled by the band.

All of these come housed in a box with lift off lid so that the complete series can be kept together as a whole.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5060187000304

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All



Add Review



June 8, 2015
edited over 3 years ago
before entirely heard: The Artwork is really amazing. Perfectly glossy Cover en masse. . An Amazing Bonus 12inch EP! For me almost the best part of the whole box set. I never saw Cowboys Junkies on stage and live, but these 4 live tracks are stunning. Psychedelic. almost. Just take the song "My little basquit": in fact 1,5 times faster and much more dynamic : Live! Just. Not to find for the moment on Youtube. Includes another nice feature: The Huge and thicker Book(let). Even the Box themselves was produced in high quality. The sound quality is almost audiophile on the vinyl.