Crass ‎– Christ - The Album / Well Forked - But Not Dead

Crass Records ‎– BOLLOX 2U2
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album
Box Set

Tracklist Hide Credits

Christ - The Album
A1 Have A Nice Day
A2 Mother Love
A3 Nineteen Eighty Bore
A4 I Know There Is Love
A5 Beg Your Pardon
A6 Birth Control 'n' Rock 'n' Roll
Vocals – Joy De Vivre
A7 Reality Whitewash
Strings – Paul Ellis (2), The Southern Symphonietta
B1 It's The Greatest Working Class Rip-Off
B2 Deadhead
B3 You Can Be Who?
B4 Buy Now Pay As You Go
B5 Rival Tribal Revel Rebel (Pt. 2)
B6 Bumhooler
B7 Sentiment (White Feathers)
Lead Guitar, Synthesizer – Phil Free (2)Vocals – Joy De Vivre
B8 Major General Despair
Well Forked - But Not Dead
C1 Banned From The Roxy
C2 The Sound Of One Hand
C3 Punk Is Dead
C4 Nagasaki Nightmare
C5 Darling
C6 Bata Motel Blues
C7 Berkertex Bribe
C8 Fold It In Half
C9 Big Hands
C10 Heart-Throb Of The Mortuary
Lead Guitar – Steve Herman (2)
C11 Bumhooler
C12 Big A Little A
C13 First Woman
D1 Arlington 73
D2 Bomb Plus Bomb Tape
D3 Contaminational Power
D4 I Ain't Thick
D5 G's Song
D6 Securicor
D7 I Can't Stand It
Lead Guitar – Steve Herman (2)
D8 Shaved Women
D9 A Part Of Life
D10 Do They Owe Us A Living
D11 So What
D12 Salt 'n' Pepper

Companies, etc.



"Christ - The Album" was recorded and mixed at Southern Studios, London, between July 1981 and February 1982.
The live recording was made on a 4 track machine on the 9th June 1981 at the 100Club, London by Real Time Music.

The box is embossed with a small Crass logo (2.25 cm) and in addition to the two records it contained a 30 x 58 cm poster and the 26-page leaflet "A Series of Shock Slogans and Mindless Token Tantrums".

This first edition has the text "CHRIST-THE ALBUM cat. no.BOLLOX 2U2/PAY NO MORE THAN 5-00 CRASS" on the spine of the box (see image #2).

Some copies contained the Sheep Farming In The Falklands flexi.

All material C P A CRASS 1982
Typesetting was by Bread 'N Roses to whom we are most grateful.

Christ - The Album Mastered at Utopia Studios, London.
Pressed at MPO Averton.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Runout A-side, etching): BOLLOX 2U2 A-3 ψ IN WAR THERE IS NO REASON - ONLY CRUEL BARBARIC FUTILITY MPO
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout B-side, etching): BOLLOX 2U2 B-3 THE DAWN IS IN US MPO
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout C-side, etching): BOLLOX 2U2 C-3 FOR WAR THERE IS NO REASON - ONLY CRUEL BARBARIC UTILITY... MPO
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout D-side, etching): BOLLOX 2U2 D-3 THE DAWN IS FOR US MPO

Other Versions (5 of 13) View All


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



June 14, 2015
edited over 2 years ago
I believe I have a version not included here, which I bought new in the mid 90s. There is no embossing on the cover, though the paper has a nice textured matte finish. Also the others are listed as a box, whereas this (and actually all the other copies I've seen) is a thick 2lp cover. There is a "Made in England" sticker on the back cover. Otherwise identical to other versions posted here. Fantastic album!