Creal ‎– Signals + Noise

Not On Label ‎– none
CD, Album, Stereo


1 Creal Morningside 03:04
2 Creal On Your Mind 05:32
3 Creal Upon Viewing The Bust Of Plato 04:03
4 Creal White Noise 03:05
5 Creal Bottle Rocket 03:50
6 Creal To The Past 01:40
7 Creal Amtrack 03:41
8 Creal Sleepless Nights 01:58
9 Creal The Bear Song 03:05
10 Jamall Bufford, Creal Athena/Buried In A Dream (Feat. Jamall Bufford) 05:55



The band Creal started in the seventh grade in the basement of Ivan's house. Since then, we've had a pretty entertaining run. We dropped a studio album, played dozens of local gigs (nearly all at the same venue), and (kind of) opened for Joe Hertler, Shigeto, The Black Opera, and Mayer Hawthorne. In the summer of 2015, however, the party will end as everyone goes off to college or wherever else fate may take them. Consider "Signals + Noise" as a culmination of six years' shared time. It is a last hurrah.

"Signals + Noise" is a radical departure from our last release, both in style and quality. At the root of this change is years of dedicated practice and a constantly shifting palette of influences. We draw from LCD Soundsystem and Toro y Moi's 2013 work "Anything in Return." The Strokes, Gorillaz, Drake, Blood Orange, Titus Andronicus, and other musical obsessions these past few years have also unwittingly played a part in crafting this album. Yes, this record is eclectic. But we would have it no other way. Creal always has been and always will be unforgivingly off kilter.

There are times when this record is self-serious; there are times when this record doesn't take itself nearly seriously enough. For ourselves, "Signals + Noise" is an album about balance and transition. You may have a different takeaway upon listening to this and that's quite alright. We can be sure, however, that you will find this record to be an acute reflection of our group dynamic, our shared passion, and our great friendship – this record is us.

And just maybe that's something worth listening to.