The Creed Taylor Orchestra / Kenyon Hopkins ‎– Shock Music In Hi-Fi / (The Best Of) Panic: The Son Of Shock / Nightmare!!

Fear Records (2) ‎– F-203-2
CD, Compilation, Limited Edition, Unofficial Release

Tracklist Hide Credits

Shock Music In Hi-Fi
1 The Creed Taylor Orchestra Heart Beat 3:30
2 The Creed Taylor Orchestra The Crank 2:23
3 The Creed Taylor Orchestra Gloomy Sunday
Written-By – Rezsô Seress*, Sam M. Lewis*
4 The Creed Taylor Orchestra The Secret
Written-By – Val Triste
5 The Creed Taylor Orchestra Jungle Fever 1:58
6 The Creed Taylor Orchestra The Long Walk 2:58
7 The Creed Taylor Orchestra Haunted House 3:04
8 The Creed Taylor Orchestra Spellbound
Written-By – Miklos Rozsa*
9 The Creed Taylor Orchestra In Bedlam 2:05
10 The Creed Taylor Orchestra Time Runs Out 2:43
11 The Creed Taylor Orchestra High On A Windy Hill
Written-By – Alex Kramer, Joan Whitney
12 The Creed Taylor Orchestra So Peaceful In The Country
Written-By – Alec Wilder
(The Best Of) Panic: The Son Of Shock
13 The Creed Taylor Orchestra You're Driving Me Crazy (What Did I Do?)
Written-By – Walter Donaldson
14 The Creed Taylor Orchestra The Operation 1:55
15 The Creed Taylor Orchestra Out Of This World
Written-By – Harold Arlen & Johnny Mercer
16 The Creed Taylor Orchestra A Shot In The Dark 2:06
17 The Creed Taylor Orchestra Heartaches
Written-By – Al Hoffman, John Klenner
18 The Creed Taylor Orchestra Rain
Written-By – Eugene Ford
19 Kenyon Hopkins The Tell-Tale Heart 1:50
20 Kenyon Hopkins Invasion Of The Locusts (Based On "Elegy") 2:16
21 Kenyon Hopkins The Loft (Based On "Dance Of The Sugar Plum Fairies") 1:56
22 Kenyon Hopkins Ghost Ship (Based On "Barbary Coast") 1:56
23 Kenyon Hopkins The Watery Grave (Based On "Molly Malone") 2:02
24 Kenyon Hopkins Chamber Of Horrors (Based On "Orientale") 2:05
25 Kenyon Hopkins The Red-Eyed Rats 2:23
26 Kenyon Hopkins The Shaft (Based On "Foggy Dew") 2:01
27 Kenyon Hopkins Werewolf (Based On "Home On The Range") 1:33
28 Kenyon Hopkins Living Tomb (Based On "John Brown's Body") 2:17
29 Kenyon Hopkins The Chase (Based On "Wayfaring Stranger") 2:07
30 Kenyon Hopkins Monster Meet 1:54

Companies, etc.



Shock Music In Hi-Fi originally released November 1958 (ABC Paramount ABC/ABCS-259).
Panic The Son Of Shock originally released April 1960 (ABC Paramount ABC-314). This CD omits six tracks from the original album.
Nightmare!! originally released January 1963 (MGM E/SE 4104). "Based On" information from the original LP release.


One of a number of Exotica bootlegs created by the same bootleggers in late 1995 and pressed at Disctronics USA.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout: 134795-W2-5175-2 DISCTRONICS USA **F-203-2**


Add Review



March 28, 2009

(First a note to the author of the online writeup: a note: Valse Triste is the name of the classical piece by Jean Sibelius that The Secret is jazzed up from. There is no composer named "Val Triste!")

Call this review:
Shock! The greatest movie for your mind on record

I was lucky enough to find this bootleg compilation to replace the LP stolen from me in 1976. That was a real keepsake - I'd sent for it from Captain Company, the mail-order house that had all the ads in the back pages of Famous Monsters.

Shock - Terror In HiFi is the best of these three albums. A few tracks were left off the triple compilation, but no great loss. Shock is there in its entire glory. Panic and Nightmare are nice to hear, but don't really bear repeat listening, alas.

The engineering, the playing, the sense of airiness is supreme; the old-time radio effects work spectacularly. I love this disc. I think the mastering was done right off the vinyl - you can hear scratches and pops in Haunted House, for instance - but it's still sounding great to my ears.
Sax, piano and vibraharps never sounded more real to me till this album came into my life. Not to mention the phone ringing, the gasps and screams. Genius lever, Sincerely!
You can find more about composer-arranger Kenyon Hopkins online by entering his name. He's also famous for scoring the film Baby Doll.

Douglas Barrett Jones
Palo Alto, Mar. 2009