Cybotron ‎– Motor City Machine Music: An Exploration Of Cybotron

BGP Records ‎– CDBGPD 167
CD, Compilation, Stereo, Mono

Companies, etc.



Track 2 is listed as "Cosmic Cars (Detroit Style Mix)". Actually, track 2 is a repeat of track 10 : "Cosmic Cars (House Mix). And there is the same error on the 2013 repress of Enter.

Pioneering works in techno by Detroit's legendary Juan Atkins (Model 500) and Rick Davis.

All tracks mono, except 1 to 3, 7 to 9.

8-Page Booklet

Tracklist info:
1: Fantasy 216 (1983)
2: Fantasy 212 (1982)
3: Fantasy FCD 4537 (1984)
4: Fantasy 234 (1985)
5: Fantasy 284 (1987)
6: Fantasy 226 (1983)
7: Fantasy 216 (1983)
8: Fantasy FCD 4537 (1984)
9: Fantasy FCD 4537 (1984)
10: Fantasy 212 (1982)
11: Fantasy 284 (1987)
12: Fantasy 234 (1985)
13: Fantasy 212 (1982)

Front Cover Photograph © Royalty-Free/CORBIS

The copyrights in these sound recordings are owned by Fantasy, Inc. and are licensed to Ace Records Ltd.
℗ Fantasy, Incz
This compilation p 2005 Ace Records Ltd.
© 2005 Ace Records Ltd.
BGP Records marketed & distributed by Ace Records Ltd 42-50 Steele Road London NW10 7AS.

Made in the UK.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 0 29667 51672 3
  • Matrix / Runout: deluxe CDBGPD167
  • Rights Society: mcps
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L135
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 04AI


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



November 4, 2018
edited 8 days ago

Damn, did anyone else read the sleeve notes for this release? Juan talks about an unreleased Cybotron track that they did called 'Shuttle Flight '. He also mentions Derrick May having something to do with it! How I would love to hear that!


February 26, 2005
edited over 13 years ago
Thank goodness no post-Enter Cybotron material was included. Instead we get more mixes of "Let's Go" and "Cosmic Cars" (records that seem to fetch big chips on unnamed auction websites). So save your chips, and picked up this CD. A good lesson in the history of electro, it includes the landmark "Clear". There was enough space and they (BGP)should have included the rough mix of Clear that originally appeared on the vinyl Fantasy records LP "Enter". That version of Clear has a lot of guitar sounds in it and you can see how it paved the way for Mr. Atkin's departure!