D'Angelo ‎– Voodoo

Virgin ‎– 7243 8 48499 1 7, Cheeba Sound ‎– 7243 8 48499 1 7
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Playa Playa
Bass – Pino PalladinoDrums – Ahmir Thompson*Guitar – Mike Campbell (3)Horns – Roy HargroveWritten-By – A. Thompson*, A. Stone*
A2 Devil's Pie
Co-producer, Programmed By – DJ PremierWritten-By – C. Martin*
A3 Left & Right
Featuring [Rap] – Method Man And Redman*Human Beatbox [Vocal Percussion] – Q-TipWritten-By – C. Smith*, K. Fareed*, R. Noble*
B1 The Line
Guitar – Raphael Saadiq
B2 Send It On
Bass – Pino PalladinoDrums – Ahmir Thompson*Flugelhorn, Trumpet – Roy HargroveGuitar – C. Edward Alford*Written-By – A. Stone*, C. Smith*, D. Thomas*, G. Redd*, G. Brown*, L. Archer*, R. Westfield*, R. Mickens*, R. Bell*, W. Sparrow*
B3 Chicken Grease
Bass – Pino PalladinoDrums – Ahmir Thompson*Trumpet – James PoyserWritten-By – A. Thompson*, J. Poyser*
B4 One Mo' Gin
Bass – Pino Palladino
C1 The Root
Bass, Guitar – Charlie HunterWritten-By – C. Hunter*
C2 Spanish Joint
Bass, Guitar – Charlie HunterCongas – Giovanni MidalgoDrums – Ahmir Thompson*Horns – Roy HargroveWritten-By – R. Hargrove*
C3 Feel Like Makin' Love
Bass – Pino PalladinoDrums – Ahmir Thompson*Written-By – E. McDaniels*
D1 Greatdayndamornin' / Booty
Arranged By [Music], Bass, Guitar – Charlie HunterDrums – Ahmir Thompson*Written-By – A. Thompson*, A. Stone*, C. Hunter*
D2 Untitled (How Does It Feel)
Arranged By [Music], Bass, Co-producer, Guitar – Raphael SaadiqWritten-By – R. Saadiq*
D3 Africa
Drums – Ahmir Thompson*Guitar – C. Edward Alford*

Companies, etc.



℗ & © 1998, 1999, 2000 Virgin Records America, Inc.
Recorded and mixed at Electric Lady Studios, New York.
Mastered at Sterling Sound, New York.

A2 contains samples from "Success" by Fat Joe and from "Interlude" by Raekwon; excerpts from "Fakin' Jacks" by InI and from "Big Daddy Anthem".
B2 contains an interpolation of "Sea Of Tranquility" by Kool & The Gang.

Includes inlay with credits, lyrics and extensive liner notes.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side A): <> V1-7243-8-48499-1-7-A CUT BY "THE INHABITANT" ;-) !!!
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side B): <> V1-7243-8-48499-1-7-B CUT BY "THE INHABITANT" ;-) !!!
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side C): <> V1-7243-8-48499-1-7-C CUT BY "THE INHABITANT" ;-) !!!
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Side D): <> V1-7243-8-48499-1-7-D CUT BY "THE INHABITANT" ;-) !!!
  • Matrix / Runout (Disc One Matrix Number): 7243 8 48845 1 2
  • Matrix / Runout (Disc Two Matrix Number): 7243 8 48846 1 1
  • Barcode: 724384849917

Other Versions (5 of 33) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
7243 8 48499 2 4 D'Angelo Voodoo(CD, Album, Club) Virgin, Cheeba Sound 7243 8 48499 2 4 US 2000 Sell This Version
7243 8 48499 2 4 D'Angelo Voodoo(CD, Album) Virgin, Cheeba Sound 7243 8 48499 2 4 US 2000 Sell This Version
7243 5 23373 2 3 D'Angelo Voodoo(CD, Album, RP) EMI, Cheeba Sound 7243 5 23373 2 3 Europe Unknown Sell This Version
7243 5 23373 2 3 D'Angelo Voodoo(CD, Album, RP) EMI, Cheeba Sound 7243 5 23373 2 3 UK & Europe Unknown Sell This Version
7 24352 33732 3 D'Angelo Voodoo(CDr, Album, Promo) EMI 7 24352 33732 3 UK 2000 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 6 Reviews

Add Review



April 25, 2019
edited 29 days ago
I noticed nobody’s talked about how this original pressing sounds so I’ll say what I think! To me, the original cut seems more intentionally cut like a hip hop LP. The mastering is very bass focused, but the cut is still clear and there’s good natural details in the highs.
The light in the attic remaster is much more natural sounding, but this original cut feels more like the original intention of the record. It’s not perfectly balanced and hifi, but thats not necessarily what a record like this should sound like! It’s entirely up to personal taste and how you want the album to sound.


December 25, 2016

This is a Front to Back album. There is no skipping songs. You just sit back and enjoy the ride.


May 26, 2016

One of the best album ever made for sure, love it a truly masterpiece.


October 23, 2015
Intelligent. Effortlessly cool. Production is sublime. This album totally took me by surprise, i wasn't expecting to be as smitten by this or as blown away by it. Voodoo gets better everytime you play it. Good Vinyl copies aren't cheap unless you go for the the recent RP but it's one of the best sounding records i own.


December 24, 2014
yes. yes indeed. i cant recommend this album highly enough. for those who enjoy this lp, please check out the d'angelo red bull music academy interview (with surprise guest questlove!) for a little more face time with a guy who rarely does interviews. and buy #blackmessiah too. that is, if you havent already. 5/5 stars.


July 6, 2007
edited over 11 years ago

Dark, Funky and spiritual. Voodoo is one of those albums that stands up to repeated listening and still reveals hidden secrets. Less commercial than his debut, Voodoo walks the line between muso intellect and street swagger perfectly.
As the title suggests there is a dark venom that flows through this albums grooves, yet the joy and humanity keep it balanced. Some of the tracks in particular like 'Chicken Grease' are little more than funk workouts but the singing and playing is flawless throughout the whole album. Worth checking.