D'Cruze ‎– Cruzin'

Sub Base Records USA ‎– SB 86008-2
CD, Album


1 Come Back 5:25
2 Free Format 6:15
3 Freedom 5:42
4 Jazz Dance 6:21
5 Cruzin' 6:14
6 Sublime State 7:16
7 Mind Of A Maniac 6:40
8 All Night Long 5:30
9 Ruf Intelligence Revisited 5:38
10 Bitter Sweet 18:57


Track 10 ends at 6:31 and a hidden track runs from 7:00 to 12:43, and a second hidden track begins at 12:46.

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
sb 86008-4 D'Cruze Cruzin'(Cass, Album) Sub Base Records USA sb 86008-4 US 1996 Sell This Version



Add Review



August 15, 2013

The subhead of D'Cruze's only album, CRUZIN', reads 'the ruf intelligence experience.' And while the beats are indeed 'ruf,' he also infuses his tracks with copious amounts of jazz, making for a more mellow experience overall. "Come Back," for instance, has a nice double bass to ground the track, while "Free Format" puts its melodic leanings up front before the beats come in in earnest. "Jazz Dance" takes a lighter turn its with digital breaks, though it changes tack a third of the way through. "Sublime State" has some airy atmospherics going for it, while "Mind of a Maniac" slows things down, but comes off a little bland. Luckily, "Bitter Sweet" perks things back up (albeit darkly) with its vocal sample from Attica Blues' "Blueprint" as well as some psychotic giggling. But, by far, his best -- and most famous track -- is the title track itself, which appears in numerous compilations. It eschews the jungle altogether for a beautiful, summer vibe, a real killer chill. It's the one that has left the most impact.