DJ Dan ‎– San Francisco Project 2 - Tribute To James Brown / The Scratch - The Bass

Cassette, Mixed, Promo

Tracklist Hide Credits

Tribute To James Brown (Bring It Back To The Funk!) 50:00
A1 James Brown The Payback Mix
Remix – Coldcut
A2 Wildlife Smells Like Dope
A3 Chad Jackson Hear The Drummer Get Wicked
A4 Think Tank A Knife And A Fork
A5 James Brown Give It Up Or Turnit Loose (Remix)
Remix – Tim Rogers
A6 Wildlife Dope Jazz
A7 Black Machine Jazz Machine
A8 The Monsters Funkit (Trip Version)
A9 Black Machine How Gee
A10 Wild Style (3) Wild Beats
A11 Kekkotronics & LTJ First Job
A12 Sons Of Judah Peter And The Wolf In Sheeps' Clothing
A13 Kekkotronics & LTJ Gimme The Funk
A14 Hip-Hop-Traxx P.O.W.E.R. (Out Of Sight)
A15 C.F.M. Band Welcome Back Brother James
The Scratch - The Bass! (Funky Bass Overload!) 50:00
B1 MC Sleaze & Solid Gone Drop It
B2 Ben Dover Get Down Tonight
B3 Visions Factory Give It Up
B4 DJ Mink Hey! Hey! Can U Relate (Hard Instrumental)
B5 Nitrous Rok Skool (Remix)
B6 Think Tank Hack One
B7 WestBam Monkey Say, Monkey Do
B8 The Last Minister Tribute To JB Family
B9 The 2 Live Crew Megamix V
B10 Frankie Bones At My House
B11 Young MC Know How
B12 The Beat Club Security
B13 Dynamix II Techno Bass
B14 Afrika Bambaataa & Soulsonic Force Don't Stop... Planet Rock (Classic Mix)
Mixed By – Jon CafferyProducer [Additional], Programmed By [Remix] – Karl Bartos, Lothar Manteuffel
B15 The Force (14) If You Haven't Danced Yet (Dope Beats Mix)
Remix – Tim Schommer
B16 DJ Magic Mike M & M Getting Off
B17 Richie Rich My DJ (Pump It Up Some) (US Remix)



26 Red Funky Stuff

Originally a two mixtape set sold with 'San Francisco Project 1 - Spirit Of The Tree', later re-released as single cassettes

Reviews Show All 5 Reviews

Add Review



April 21, 2010
edited over 7 years ago
Another digitization of this (along with the rest of the San Francisco project series) & many more early DJ Dan mixes (part of a Future Retro series, to promote an upcoming CD production) can be found at!/DJDanMusic?v=app_7146470109
You might want to compare the 2 sources (I found out that 1 side of 1 of the future retro series mixes is missing a few songs at the end - Fix to Funk B). The Future Retro series definitely sound fatter (Ezeskankin mp3s also miss a beat at times).


January 21, 2008

Where can I begin on this mix?? It is the classic of all classic Breaks DJ Mixes!
Nothing about this mix could be better:

The blending is flawless. Dan switches records quickly, yet blends them perfectly. And some of these records are hard to beat match, being old, full of imperfect samples, changing rhythms and tempos. Not one mix is off at all. And to top it off DJ Dan cuts back and forth between tracks in all the right moments, throwing in bits of the next or previous record. This trick, annoying and mastubatory in the hands of some DJ's, fits perfectly when done here.

The track selection is a potpourri of brilliant, intelligent, funky early 90's (and some late 80's) breaks. The best is here. Not a single track on this mix is a clunker.

The mix starts as a real tribute to James Brown, showcasing some amazing modern interpretations of his music as well as one of his actual songs. Then other gems are thrown in, showing us that this music is just as fun and playful and funky as James Brown's music it pays tribute to. Both of Think Tank's excellent tracks are here ("A knife and a fork, a bottle and a cork, that's the way you spell New York!") and the Black Machine tracks introduce some Breaks with massive Jazz influence.

Another huge influence heard here is early hip-hop. The mix is just as much a tribute to the early pioneers of hip-hop who sampled Jamnes Brown as it is an actual tribute to James himself. And the result is a lovely blend of rap samples, scratching, James Brown funk, and about 1000 other things thrown in for good measure.

Listening to this mix is a history lesson. Some of the samples heard include:
-Peter & The Wolf (The Musical)
-Public Enemy
-Eric B. & Rakim
-Rob Base
-Kool & The Gang
-oh yeah, um James Brown too, about 380 times.

The flawless presentation continues on Side B. About halfway through this side the mood switches to more electro/freestyle oriented breaks and the change is seamless. The energy builds and the scratcing intensifies (scratching both in the records and also performed by Dan himself) and by the end of the tape one may feel like applauding.

This tape was played to pieces by me and all my friends starting back in 93, now I see it as an amazing time capsule of early 90's and late 80's breaks.

Currently (Jan. 2008) this mix can be found for free download at ezeskankin dot com and I recomend you check it out and pass it on!!