DJ Krush ‎– Meiso

Mo Wax ‎– 697-124-084-2, FFRR ‎– 697-124-084-2
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Only The Strong Survive
Lyrics By, Rap – C.L. Smooth
2 Anticipation
Scratches – DJ Hide
3 What's Behind Darkness? 3:06
4 Meiso
Lyrics By, Rap – Black Thought, Malik B.
5 Bypath 1 0:38
6 Blank 2:19
7 Ground
Lyrics By, Rap, Chorus – Deflon Sallahr
8 Bypath 2 0:46
9 Most Wanted Man
Lyrics By, Rap, Chorus – Big ShugMusic By, Chorus – Guru
10 Bypath 3 1:13
11 3rd Eye 4:48
12 Oce 9504 3:36
13 Duality
Drum Programming [Part 1] – DJ KrushMusic By, Beats, Scratches, Drum Programming [Part 2] – DJ Shadow
14 Bypath - Would You Take It?
Programmed By [Abstract Programming] – DJ Krush

Companies, etc.



Recorded at Show-On Studio (Tokyo) and Platinum Island Studios (New York). Mixed at Platinum Island Studios (New York). Mastered at Sony Music Shinanomachi Studio.

Release (P)1995 Sony Music Entertainment (Japan) Inc. (C)1995 Mowax / A&M Records Ltd. Manufactured and marketed by I.L.S. Made in the U.S.A.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 7 697-124-084-2 8
  • Matrix / Runout: 697 124 0842 39$ J MADE IN USA BY UML
  • Other (logo): Universal
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L009
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 0333

Other Versions (5 of 14) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
SRCS 7752 DJ Krush Meiso -迷走-(CD, Album) Sony SRCS 7752 Japan 1995 Sell This Version
540 467-2 DJ Krush Meiso(CD, Album) Mo Wax, A&M Records 540 467-2 UK 1996 Sell This Version
MW 039 LP DJ Krush Meiso(2xLP, Album, Unofficial) Mo Wax (2) MW 039 LP UK 2005 Sell This Version
MW039LP DJ Krush Meiso(2xLP, Album, Unofficial) Mo Wax (2) MW039LP UK 2003 Sell This Version
MW039CD DJ Krush Meiso(CD, Album, Car) Mo Wax MW039CD UK 1995 Sell This Version



Add Review



February 13, 2013

For MEISO, DJ Krush invites some vocalists to augment his trip-hop. A hint of shakuhachi creeps onto "Only the Strong Survive," though C.L. Smooth takes center stage. The title track and "Ground" offer a slightly more raw take on the vocals, but Krush's mellow groove keeps things under control. While the vocals aren't in and of themselves bad, it feels like too much of a concession to American hip-hop. But once we get to the instrumentals, the woozy bass of "Anticipation" shows what DJ Krush can really do: "What's Behind Darkness?" gets back to a slow, creeping darkness, while "3rd Eye" is more meditative. "Oce 9504" has a child-like joy that's not present on the vocal tracks, and his collaboration with DJ Shadow, "Duality," switches personality halfway through, going from a atmospheric ambiance to a more rigorous beat, while still retaining the dreaminess. This is Krush at his best.