DJ Mark Farina* ‎– Mushroom Jazz 4

OM Records ‎– OM125
CD, Mixed

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Pete Rock A Little Soul (Petestrumental) 3:52
2 Scienz Of Life Hot Banana's (Instrumental) 4:26
3 PUTS* Suite For Beaver Pt. 1 6:57
4 Maspyke Truth In Position (Instrumental) 2:31
5 Trankilou Chicago Babe 3:02
6 Joshua Wiggle And Giggle 2:46
7 Ripshop Feat. Mr. Lif Shoplif (Instrumental)
Featuring – Mr. Lif
8 Laurnea Keep Your Head Up 4:55
9 DJ Slave Original Beats 4:08
10 Fat Jon No 1:56
11 Wick Wack Mellow Soul Fruit 5:42
12 Benny Blanko Listen 4:09
13 Bernal Boogie Phone Tap 3:59
14 Sub Conscious* Irreconcilable (Instrumental) 3:49
15 Julius Papp & Dave Warrin Seems To Know 3:17
16 Space Hopper Find Yourself 1:43
17 Tek-9* 7 Dayz (DJ Spinna Instrumental Remix)
Remix – DJ Spinna
18 Dubble-D* Big Fish 5:38
19 Greyboy Bath Music
Featuring – Dave Pike, Elgin Park



Duration is 69:59.

Released in Digipak.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 6 00353 02252 2
  • Barcode (Scanned): 600353022522
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 2U7G
  • Mastering SID Code: ifpi L909
  • Matrix / Runout: WEA mfg. OLYPHANT Z12060 M1S11 CI 4 OMM2 30225-2 01

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All


Reviews Show All 4 Reviews

Add Review



October 7, 2012
edited over 5 years ago

I cannot stop listening to this CD! There's no other cd in my collection that sounds even remotely close to this! Its basically a fusion of the dopest loungesque hip-hop instrumentals and the buttery-est downtempo vocal house mixed together in absolute flawless manner. The track selection is non-stop brilliant. Its catchy, its hooky, its some of the most vibin' music I can say I've honestly ever heard. There is not one track on here that is sub-par. Pure gold. Imagine the most urban house sound you could possibly hear. That's what this CD is. I love going back in time, taking a chance on something I've never heard, and stumbling upon something so original as this recording. Its a breath of fresh air in an atmosphere currently clogged with very genre specific recordings.

The track by Joshua called "Wiggle and Giggle" is mislabeled slightly. Its really J Boom - Wiggle and Jiggle

P.S. the police siren in the middle of track 8, I could do without that. Every time I'm in the goddam car when that track plays I think I'm getting pulled over.


July 17, 2010
edited over 7 years ago
Does anyone know why the real track info for track 11 isn't used? My understanding is that Track 11 is actually by The Deadbeats - it's called "Swing Me Like A Hip Hop Song" -- just like the sample in the song. Log into iTunes, pull up "The Deadbeats" album "Made in the Shade" ... Maybe the original release was under a diff name?


March 13, 2006
edited over 12 years ago

First of all, let me tell you that Om Records is the label which made me discover and LOVE house, deep house, breaks, and instrumental hip-hop (with Ninja Tune, even if the sound of om is different...). In the market, there's a lot of compilations of acid jazz/instrumental hip-hop stuff. Some are really good, but sometimes, a bit boring, because there is no atmosphere created around these CDs...and for me, the ambiance is the most important thing. Om records proposes a lot of different sounds, a sound always "deep"...and Mushroom jazz serie is, in my opinion, one of the best compilation, perhaps the best, of Om. Mark Farina, the messiah of house/deep house is a guy who knows true hip-hop too and makes us discover some masterpieces of underground urban and smart beats.
Let's talk about Mushroom jazz Vol 4. I think ALL the mushroom jazz are splendid, and mushroom jazz 4 is a real the others. So, what sort of music is inside this disc? 19 tracks of instrumental hip-hop, acid jazz, future jazz, downtempo, and even deep house tunes. It's an underground thing. People under the stairs, Maspyke, Greyboy, Joshua...some great producers. So, to make a mushroom jazz compilation, take some good beats, sometimes catchy, often smooth, and add a marvellous atmosphere...Take your audiophones, imagine, and dream...
The smart atmosphere of Mushroom jazz 4 is unique. The sound is a real pleasure for your ears. Mushroom jazz is for everybody, but for people who like thinking while they are listenin' to music. Mushroom jazz is a deep travel into an underground colorful world, made of smart hip-hop and relaxing music.
There's another positive point in this mushroom jazz CD, it's the fact that this is Underground, but in the same time, the music has no target. Everybody can love it.



April 23, 2003

I can't say enough about this man. This fourth chapter is just as amazing as the first. A bit more hip-hop influenced and a bit more of a metropolitan sound, this is a must have for any downtempo enthusiast.