DJ Rels ‎– Theme For A Broken Soul

Stones Throw Records ‎– STH2087
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album


A1 Don't U Know 4:50
A2 Interlude 0:24
A3 Broken Soul/Dawn 8:41
B1 Sunrise 5:46
B2 Interlude 0:26
B3 Universal Peace 6:52
C1 São Paulo 4:24
C2 Interlude 0:19
C3 Song For My Lady 4:27
C4 Moonride 5:18
C5 Interlude 0:35
D1 Waves 4:56
D2 The Doo (Do It) 4:03
D3 Diggin In Brownswood 5:29

Companies, etc.



Made In UK
C4: Track duration on label - 8:41

Note: tracklist on back cover does not match the actual tracklist on both the vinyl labels and on the vinyl itself.

BPM is not provided on the record.
A1: 122 | A2: - | A3: 120
B1: 120 | B2: - | B3: 125
C1: 120 | C2: - | C3: 109 | C4: 110 | C5: -
D1: 120 | D2: 120 | D3: 124

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5 036865 005244
  • Rights Society: BMI

Other Versions (5 of 7) View All


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



February 25, 2018
Only Otis Jackson Jr. could take a scene practically unseen by global media (focused around a small niche London crowd, steeped in complex cultural influence) & not only get it right; but hammer it into the ground. Broken beats & new jazz have a definitive divide; broken beats being a unique formula, born from deep jazz, garage, breakbeat & D&B, with an offbeat, 2 step swagger. Only a master of Jazz & the sharpest ear out there could comfortably jump on board & deliver an album like this. Another I'd throw the medal of honour to is Canada's Kevin Moon ( who contributed some choice material throughout the era. A real highlight from OJ's huge catalog, & another alias for the portfolio...


April 19, 2017

seriously hot shit right here, in dire need of a repress