DJ Shadow ‎– Excessive Ephemera

Island Records ‎– B0005958-01, Island Def Jam Music Group ‎– B0005958-01, Mo Wax ‎– B0005958-01
2 × Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Limited Edition

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Best Foot Forward (Alternate Version) 1:16
A2 Building Steam With A Grain Of Salt (Alternate Take Without Overdubs) 6:43
A3 The Number Song (Cut Chemist Party Mix)
Remix – Cut Chemist
A4 Changeling (Original Demo Excerpt) 1:00
A5 Stem (Cops 'N' Robbers Mix) 3:48
B1 Soup 0:44
B2 Red Bus Needs To Leave! 2:45
B3 What Does Your Soul Look Like (Part 4) 5:09
B4 Mutual Slump (Alternate Take Without Overdubs) 4:21
B5 Organ Donor (Extended Overhaul) 4:29
C1 Why Hip-Hop Sucks In '96 (Alternate Take) 0:54
C2 Midnight In A Perfect World (Gab Mix)
Rap [Featuring] – Gab*Written-By – Josh Davis, T. Parker*
C3 Napalm Brain (Original Demo Beat) 0:35
C4 What Does Your Soul Look Like (Peshay Remix)
Remix, Producer [Additional] – Peshay
D1 Live In Oxford, England, Oct. 30. 1997
DJ Mix – DJ Shadow

Companies, etc.



Limited to 1500 copies. Comes in a regular sleeve containing 2 fully printed inner sleeves with photographies, credits and liner notes.

Sleeve spine reads: Endtroducing..... DJ Shadow Excessive Ephemera

A3 remixed at The Red October Chemical Storage Facility. Originally issued on single Midnight In A Perfect World / The Number Song, ffrr 162-531-084, 1997.
A5, B1, B2 originally issued on Mo'Wax single Stem, MW058, October 1996.
B5 originally issued on Mo'Wax single High Noon, MW063S, October 1997.
C2 originally issued on Mo'Wax single Midnight In A Perfect World, MW057, September 1996. Recorded in the late Summer of '95.
C4 originally issued on Mo'Wax single What Does Your Soul Look Like (Part 1) Remixes, MW087, January 1998.
D1 recorded for BBC Radio 1 at Oxford Brooks University, 30th October 1997. ℗ 2005 BBC. Released by arrangement with BBC Music.

All tracks except D1 recorded @ The Glue Factory, San Francisco. Mastered at The Mastering Lab, Hollywood, CA. Lacquer cutting by Capitol Mastering Studios, Hollywood, CA.

Mastered By Gavin Lurssen on D Side inner sleeve as is, and Gl on matrix.
Design: Ryan Rogers, Oddopolis.

Thanks to Chris Dwyer, Brent Locke, David O'Bryan, David Sharpe, Adam Starr, Claire Sugrue.

℗© 2005 Universal-Island Records, Ltd. Manufactured by the Island Def Jam Music Group - U.S.A.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A, hand etchings): B.0005958-01-A Gl RM ⓤ
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B, hand etchings): B.0005958-01-B Gl RM ⓤ
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C, hand etchings): B.0005958-01- C Gl RM ⓤ
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D, hand etchings): B.0005958-01- D Gl RM ⓤ



Add Review



October 29, 2017
edited 23 days ago
Promoted in a flier that came with the 2005 deluxe edition advertising other DJ Shadow albums and the 33 1/3 book. Under the other albums it states:
"ENDTRODUCING / Excessive Ephemera - coming soon to vinyl !"
I guess they scrapped the plans for releasing both of them together, that is until the 2016 release.