DJ Shadow ‎– The Outsider

Universal Motown ‎– B0007443-02
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Outsider Intro
Mastered By – Mazen MuradVocals – Oliver Tobias
2 This Time (I'm Gonna Try It My Way)
Arranged By [Instruments] – DJ Shadow, Max WeissenfeldtArranged By [Strings], Conductor – Wil MaloneFeaturing [Instruments] – The HeliocentricsMastered By – Mazen MuradMixed By [Assist] – Joe HirstRecorded By [Assistant] – George RenwickRecorded By [Strings] – Phil RoseStrings – London Session Orchestra*Vocals, Written-By – Unknown Artist
3 3 Freaks
Featuring – Keak Da Sneak, Turf TalkMastered By – Tom CoyneVocals [Additional] – DJ D-SharpWritten-By – C. Williams*, D. Bernstein*
4 Droop-E Drop 0:18
5 Turf Dancing
Featuring – Animaniaks, The Federation*Mastered By – Tom CoyneWritten-By – A. Caldwell*, Marvin Selmon, T. Jackson*
6 Keep Em Close
Featuring – NumpPerformer [Sample From "TaTa (Instrumental)"] – Timothy WilsonWritten-By – D. Perfetto*
7 Seein Thangs
Featuring – David BannerMastered By – Tom CoynePerformer [Sample From "Crimson Red"] – Cecelia*Recorded By [Additional] – Scott BomarWritten-By – L. Crump*
8 Broken Levee Blues
Guitar – Joe GoreMastered By – Mazen MuradPerformer [Sample From "Rolling Love Pt. 2"] – 3 Days Ahead LPFVocals – Taalam Acey
9 Artifact (Instrumental)
Mastered By – Mazen MuradMixed By – DJ Shadow, Jim Abbiss
10 Backstage Girl
Featuring – Phonte ColemanMastered By – Mazen MuradWritten-By – P. Coleman*
11 Triplicate / Something Happened That Day
Mastered By – Mazen MuradPerformer [Sample From "In A Landscape"], Written-By [Sample From "In A Landscape"], Composed By [Sample From "In A Landscape"] – John CageWritten-By – J. Cage*
12 The Tiger
Drums [Additional] – CountFeaturing – Christopher Karloff, Sergio PizzornoMastered By – Mazen MuradMixed By – DJ Shadow, Jim AbbissMixed By [Assisted] – Jesse Gladstone, Joe HirstPercussion [Additional] – Jack YglesiasWritten-By – S. Pizzorno*
13 Erase You
Featuring – Chris James (6)Mastered By – Mazen MuradMixed By – DJ Shadow, Jim AbbissMixed By [Assisted] – Jesse Gladstone, Joe HirstWritten-By – C. James*
14 What Have I Done
Featuring – Christina CarterMastered By – Mazen MuradPerformer [Sample From "Grow"] – Scott WitteRecorded By [Vocals] – Jesse GladstoneWritten-By – C. Carter*
15 You Made It
Arranged By [Strings] – DJ ShadowArranged By [Strings], Conductor – Wil MaloneFeaturing – Chris James (6)Mastered By – Tim YoungMixed By – DJ Shadow, Jim AbbissMixed By [Assisted] – Jesse Gladstone, Joe HirstPercussion [Additional] – CountPerformer [Sample From "Hard On Me"] – The Bentleys (5)Performer [Strings] – The London Session OrchestraRecorded By [Assisted] – George RenwickRecorded By [Strings] – Phil RoseWritten-By – C. James*
16 Enuff
Featuring – Lateef The Truth Speaker, Q-TipMastered By – Tom CoynePerformer [Sample From "Bobby"] – Severance (7)Recorded By [Vocals] – Jesse GladstoneVocals [Additional] – CountWritten-By – K. Fareed*, L. Daumont*
17 Dats My Part
Featuring – E-40Mastered By – Tom CoyneRecorded By [Vocals] – D-Wiz, Droop-EWritten-By – E. Stevens*
18 3 Freaks (Droop-E Remix)
Edited By – DJ ShadowFeaturing – Keak Da Sneak, Mistah Fab*, Turf TalkMastered By – Tom CoyneRecorded By [Additional Vocals] – NumpRemix, Producer [Additional] – Droop-EWritten-By – C. Williams*, D. Bernstein*, E. Stevens, Jr.*, S. Cox*

Companies, etc.



Track 6 contains a sample of 'Ta Ta' by Timothy Wilson.
Track 7 contains a sample of 'Crimson Red' by Cecelia.
Track 8 contains a sample of 'Rolling Love Pt 2' by 3 Days Ahead.
Track 11 contains a sample of 'In A Landscape' by John Cage.
Track 14 contains a sample of 'Grow' by Scott Witte.
Track 15 contains a sample of 'Hard On Me' by The Bentleys.
Track 16 contains a sample of 'Bobby' by Severance.

Issued in a eight-panel Digipak.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Scanned): 602517049574
  • Barcode (Text): 6 02517 04957 4
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1): B00 074 4302 01@
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 2): [EDC logo] B00 074 4302 01@ B
  • Mastering SID Code (Variants 1, 2): IFPI L006
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 0373
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 0323
  • Other (Mould, Variant 2): MADE IN USA BY UML

Other Versions (5 of 31) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
1703468 DJ Shadow The Outsider(CD, Album, S/Edition, Sup) Island Records 1703468 UK & Europe 2006 Sell This Version
1599 DJ Shadow The Outsider(CDr, Album, Copy Prot., Promo) Island Records 1599 UK 2006 Sell This Version
France 36 DJ Shadow The Outsider(CDr, Album, Copy Prot., Promo) Island Records France 36 France 2006 Sell This Version
DJSH-001 DJ Shadow The Outsider Instrumentals(2xLP, Album, Num) Reconstruction Productions DJSH-001 US 2009 Sell This Version
1704960 DJ Shadow The Outsider(2xLP, Album) Island Records 1704960 UK 2006 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



April 20, 2008
Ok. Fine. I admit. I missed this one. I don't know how it happened. Either it didn't make a big splash, or I got stuck playing Endtroducing... I guess both are true. Meanwhile, Josh Davis, who slammed the above mentioned monumental debut back in 1996, returned a decade later with a third DJ Shadow album. The Outsider may surprise (and/or disappoint) any DJ Shadow fan. The album has only a few instrumental tracks, and it's pretty hip-hop heavy, featuring a long list of West Coast rappers, including Keak Da Sneak, Federation, and Q-Tip from A Tribe Called Quest. Davis is based out of Bay Area, so it would be almost impossible for him to ignore the hyphy movement. Speaking to The Skinny magazine, Davis said, "it was really exciting when it came along and rather than do what I would probably have done in the past and go 'well gee, I'm a guy who mainly works with samples, so I guess this is just gonna pass me by,' I embraced it." Half way through the album we get a taste of blues, followed by an upbeat instrumental piece, and soon Davis drops a couple of indie tracks, featuring the vocals of Chris James from Stateless. Luckily for me, I dig the West Coast hip-hop sound. And I was equally impressed with the indie rock sound. But The Outsider may turn away the die hard fans. I guess the days of record digging may be over for the DJ Shadow that we know [and love], and as Davis matured, so did his desire for quality studio production. Favorite tracks: This Time (I'm Gonna Try It My Way), Backstage Girl, and Erase You.


November 1, 2007

DJ Shadow goes hyphy! _The Outsider_ represents a departure in sound for him, even if the the spoken word intro promises something ominous and "This Time" is a piece of sunny upbeat funk. But "3 Freaks" brings in the granddaddy of hyphy, Keak Da Sneak, for some grindy hip-hop more interested in partying than head-nodding. And things continue in that vein for pretty much the entirety of the album. "Seein Things" takes on an angrier tone, addressing the government's mangled response to Hurricane Katrina, leading into the electric guitar blues of "Broken Levee Blues." After some more nonsense, "Triplicate/Something Happened That Day" gets us back to what made DJ Shadow (almost) a household name. After that, the album takes on an indie rock vibe, with "The Tiger" and "Erase You." Christina Carter's delicate voice buoys "What Have I Done." And if "You Made It" sounds suspiciously like a Coldplay sound... well, I blame Chris James for that. But, jarringly, "Enuff" throws the hip-hop back in the fold, even if it's not as grating as the hyphy of the earlier half. I won't even comment on "Dats My Part." It's a maddeningly uneven album, but perhaps it's naive to assume that DJ Shadow would continue doing _Endtroducing_ over and over again. I'm eager to see how he develops next.