DJ Spinna ‎– Heavy Beats Volume 1

Rawkus ‎– RWK 1164-1
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album


  • Artwork By [Art Direction / Design] – Nobody
  • Artwork By [Art Direction] – Phase2
  • Artwork By [Design] – Arnold
  • Executive Producer – Vincent Williams
  • Mastered ByChris Athens
  • Other [Management], Executive Producer – George Littlejohn, Russell Johnson
  • Photography – Franck Khalfoun
  • Producer, Recorded By, Mixed ByDJ Spinna, Steve Barkan* (tracks: A2, C1, C2)


Produced, recorded and mastered at The Thingamajig Lab, Brooklyn; except "Who U Be" produced, recorded and mastered at MAW Studios N.Y.
Mastered at Sony Music Studios.

"The beats on this joint were made strictly with original breaks. No bootlegs, compilations or reissued shit - you hear?"

"Rock" contains samples from "Love The Life You Live" performed by Kool & The Gang
and "Jam On The Groove" performed by Ralph McDonald.
"Watch Dees" contains a sample from "One Step Beyond" performed by Madness.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Scanned): 601617116414

Other Versions (3 of 3) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
P2 50070, 0 4992-50070-2 2 DJ Spinna Heavy Beats Volume 1(CD, Album) Rawkus, Rawkus P2 50070, 0 4992-50070-2 2 US 1999 Sell This Version
none DJ Spinna Heavy Beats Volume 1(Cass, Album, Promo) Rawkus none US 1999 Sell This Version
RWK 1164-1 DJ Spinna Heavy Beats Volume 1(2xLP, Album, Promo) Rawkus RWK 1164-1 US 1999 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



July 5, 2017
i swear I owned a copy of this (or a mix of it) on cassette. Might of been a promo. I came by it in 1999, when a friend of a friend type thing very briefly introduced me to one guy involved in Rawkus Records, and he gave me a copy of the cassette. Does anybody else remember seeing a cassette copy? I'm going to have to tear my house apart looking for it.