DJ Spooky That Subliminal Kid* ‎– Riddim Warfare

Outpost Recordings ‎– OPRD-30031
CD, Album, Club Edition

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Pandemonium 1:29
2 Synchronic Disjecta
Vocals – Sir Menelik
3 Object Unknown
Engineer [Vocals] – Kut Masta KurtGuitar – DJ SpookyVocals – Kool Keith, Sir Menelik
4 It's Nice Not To Lose Your Mind
Drums – Karsh KaleGuitar – Akin Atoms*
5 Dialectical Transformation I (A Parallax View) 1:34
6 Post-Human Sophistry 3:53
7 Quilombo Ex Optico
Bass – Dhengue*Drums – Gilmar Bola8*, Gira, Jorge Du Peixe, Pupilo*Featuring – Nação ZumbiGuitar – Arto Lindsay, Lucio Maia*Percussion – Marcos Matias, Toca Ogan
8 Rekonstruction
Acoustic Guitar – Paul D. Miller, Vinicius Cantuaria*Recorded By [Assistant] – Justin LechterVocals – Organized KonfusionVocals [Credited To] – Pharoah Monch*, Prince Poetry*
9 Scientifik
Vocals – Sir Menelik
10 A Conversation
Vocals, Scratches – DJ Ambassador Jr
11 Peace In Zaire
Vocals – Grisha Coleman
12 Dialectical Transformation II (Du Nouveau Monde) 1:14
13 Degree Zero
Vocals – Killah Priest
14 Roman Planetaire
Drums – Karsh KaleGuitar – Akin Atoms*Keyboards – Manny Oquendo*Saxophone – Micah Gaugh
15 Bass Digitalis 1:02
16 Polyphony Of One
Vocals – Julia Sher
17 Riddim Warfare
Engineer [Vocals] – Kut Masta KurtVocals – Kool Keith
18 The Nerd 1:43
19 Dialectical Transformation III (Soylent Green)
Guitar – Thurston Moore
20 Theme Of The Drunken Sailor
Drums – Karsh KaleGuitar – Akin Atoms*Keyboards – Manny Oquendo*Trumpet [Mutantrumpet] – Ben Neill
21 Twilight Fugue
Vocals – Mariko Mori

Companies, etc.



Recorded at Bass Hit Recording, NYC. Mixed at MAW Studios, NYC. Mastered at Masterdisk.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 260323070000
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L338
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 501F
  • Matrix / Runout: DIDX-064370 3 A01

Other Versions (5 of 10) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
ASP 0986 DJ Spooky That Subliminal Kid* Riddim Warfare(2xLP, Album) Asphodel ASP 0986 US 1998 Sell This Version
030031-4, none DJ Spooky That Subliminal Kid* Riddim Warfare(Cass, Album) Universal, Ukrainian Records, Outpost Recordings 030031-4, none Ukraine 2001 Sell This Version
OPRD-A-30031 DJ Spooky That Subliminal Kid* Riddim Warfare(CDr, Album, Promo) Outpost Recordings OPRD-A-30031 1999 Sell This Version
OPD-30031 / 030 031-2 DJ Spooky That Subliminal Kid* Riddim Warfare(CD, Album) Outpost Recordings, Asphodel OPD-30031 / 030 031-2 Europe 1999 Sell This Version
OPRSD-30031 DJ Spooky That Subliminal Kid* Riddim Warfare(CD, Album) Outpost Recordings OPRSD-30031 Canada 1998 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 4 Reviews

Add Review



February 27, 2013

Be careful when you dig into this record: Spooky's first Recording was a smooth one, a slow nightmare. And, think about it, it has a pleasant, if somewhat extrange and dark, mood.
This one instead is full of hardcore breaks, samples without too much "rhythmic coherence" coming from nowhere and freaking you out. There is also a lot of hip hop tunes that are rough and hard. And, by example, check up the main sample in "It's Nice Not To Lose Your Mind", that come across in several sections in the whole album, even functioning as the album's closer piece. But that's all is part of the main concept (Spooky is, above all, a concept artist): >>>it is a Rythm Warfare<<<. Yeah, that explains all the musical collage showed here. You can enjoy a break or a melody for a minute or less,t hen is cutted off and replaced by another weird sound. That's amazing.
If you have listened Dj Spooky's debut or later records, then, without thinking too much about it, check up this one. It can rock your world.


April 12, 2004

The only decent tracks are the few that feature Kool Kieth and Sir Menelik. ..the rest sounds like a rough studio session playing with effects, and has little musical or rhythmic coherence.


September 16, 2001
edited over 17 years ago

This album is all over the place! DJ Spooky has that whole experimental sound scientist thing about him. I like some tracks, and I don't like some tracks.