DJQ* ‎– Music As We Know It

Glasgow Underground ‎– GUCD033
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 The Birth Of A Beautiful Thing 6:49
2 System 600
Percussion – Iain Sandilands
3 Feel It
Vocals – Leigh Garden
4 Over U Now 6:42
5 Bitchslapped 8:33
6 Just One Hour
Vocals – Leigh Garden
7 Season's End
Percussion – Iain Sandilands
8 Things Will Never Change
Flute, Saxophone – Nick McCallumVocals – Tyrone Palmer
9 Fog Bound 7:10
10 Your Move
Flute – Nick McCallum

Companies, etc.



Track 4: Contains uncredited vocal samples of "Together" performed by Interceptor.
Track 5: Contains uncredited samples of "Get Your Hands Off My Man" performed by Junior Vasquez and of "Respect" performed by Aretha Franklin.
Track 10: Contains uncredited samples of Robert De Niro's voice, taken from the movie "Taxi Driver" directed by Martin Scorsese (1976).
Published by Chrysalis © Glasgow Underground 2002.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 823220003229
  • Matrix / Runout: GUCD033 01 5
  • Matrix / Runout: MADE IN THE UK BY UNIVERSAL M&L
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L135
  • Mould SID Code: IFPI 04H0

Other Versions (3 of 3) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
luce 0011, LUCE0011 DJQ* Music As We Know It(CD, Album) Shampoo Records, Shampoo Records luce 0011, LUCE0011 Germany, Austria, & Switzerland 2002 Sell This Version
GU LP 33 DJ Q Music As We Know It(2xLP) Glasgow Underground GU LP 33 UK 2002 Sell This Version
GUCD033 DJ Q Music As We Know It(CD, Album, Promo) Glasgow Underground GUCD033 UK 2002 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 3 Reviews

Add Review



August 4, 2010

DJ Q has always been one of the less-heralded names in house music, but listening to his 3rd album, _Music As We Know It_, you'd never guess why. "The Birth of a Beautiful Thing" has a great jazzy vibe, without slipping too far into soporifics, while "System 600" has some hints of Latin percussion. "Feel It" is straightforward in its funk-guitar groove (even if it doesn't develop that much; this holds doubly true for "Bitchslapped"), but the smoothness of "Over U Now" elides over those issues. "Just One Hour" and "Things Will Never Change" are pure house pleasure, and "Season's End" drifts into the land of trip-hop, complete with weather effects. "Fog Bound" gets slightly more tech-y, and "Your Move" lays down some mellow breaks. A nice, understated album.