DA ‎– Exclamation Point - [Un]released Recordings 1980-81

Factory 25 ‎– FTF-500, Factory 25 ‎– 082354251321
Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Limited Edition, White

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 1:28
Engineer – Timothy Powell
A2 Dark Rooms
Engineer, Producer – George Kapoulas, Mike Rasfeld
A3 Silent Snow
Featuring [Sleigh Bells] – Lorna*
A4 Mirrors
Engineer – Timothy Powell
A5 Time Will Be Kind
Engineer, Producer [Uncredited] – George Kapoulas, Timothy Powell
A6 This Doubt
Engineer, Producer – George Kapoulas, Timothy Powell
A7 Fish Shit
Engineer – Timothy Powell
B1 Strangers
Engineer, Producer – George Kapoulas, Timothy Powell
B2 Next To Nothing
Engineer, Producer – George Kapoulas, Timothy Powell
B3 The Killer
Engineer, Producer – Timothy Powell
B4 Oh Boy!
Engineer, Producer [Uncredited] – Timothy Powell
B5 Three Shadows
Engineer, Producer – George Kapoulas, Timothy Powell
B6 The Good's Gone
Engineer, Producer – Timothy PowellNoises [Fire Extinguisher] – Gaylene*Noises [Reverb Head] – Dave*Written-By – Pete Townshend



Released on Record Store Day, 2010. Limited to 1,000 copies on opaque white vinyl. Stickered front reads: "'Like Patti Smith fronting Joy Division' — Chicago Reader. Featured in the Film: 'You Weren't There: A History of Chicago Punk 1977-84'"

Tracks A1, A4, A7 and B4 ("1:28", "Mirrors", "Fish Shit" and "Oh Boy!") are demos recorded August 1980, DA-House, Metro Mobile.

Track A2, "Dark Rooms", is a DA Single, recorded December 1980, Acme Studios.

Track A3, "Silent Snow", is an alternate mix from "Time Will Be Kind" EP sessions.

Track A5, "Time Will Be Kind", is a salvaged outtake from the "Time Will Be Kind" EP sessions. swodahS 3 of ortuo sdrawkcab sa desaeler ylsuoiverP

Tracks A6, B1, B2, and B5 ("This Doubt", "Strangers", "Next To Nothing" and "Three Shadows") from DA "Time Will Be Kind" EP, recorded Summer 1981, Sound Impressions. Released 1982, Autumn Records AU-6.

Track B3, "The Killer", is recorded live at Tuts, July 1981, Metro Mobile.

Track B6, "The Good's Gone", is a song by The Who. Recorded live at some art opening, June 1981, Metro Mobile.

Major discrepancy: The liner notes also refer to two tracks that are not on this release, one of which is "White Castles" (the b-side on the 7" single for "Dark Rooms") and the second is "Pushin Too Hard" by the Seeds. Both tracks were intended to be inserted into the tracklisting as tracks B4 and B5 respectively, creating a 15-song release rather than the final version, which has only 13 songs. These two songs were removed from the release to shave down the total playing time on side two. (Including them would have resulted in tighter grooves and reduced sound quality.) New liner notes were proofed, but due to a mix-up, the original liner notes for the 15-song version were printed on the inner sleeve.

© 2010 Factory 25 LLC. All rights reserved. Manufactured and marketed by Factory 25, LLC under exclusive rights.

Release also features logo for Regressive Films.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Printed): 0 82354 25132 1
  • Barcode (Scanned): 082354251321
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Groove Side A): 8506-FTF 42513-1 (A) S71798 IL
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Groove Side B): 8506-FTF 142513-1 (B) RE1 S-71799 RE-1