Daniel Andréasson ‎– The Sentinel E.P.

Tabernacle Records (2) ‎– TABR004
Vinyl, 12", 33 ⅓ RPM, Limited Edition, EP


A1 The Sentinel 4:41
A2 Ibis228 4:01
A3 Flight 303 4:34
B1 Gerdsken 4:58
B2 cONCUSSION36 5:19


200 hand numbered copies.



Add Review



May 5, 2011

Daniel Andréasson hails from Alingsås on the west coast of Sweden and has been releasing music since 2006. Daniel has produced across a number of genres including IDM, techno, drum and bass and breakcore. Now, Tabernacle Records brings us his latest output, a mix of influence and styles on 12 inch wax.

To kick us off, ’The Sentinel’ is a slow, moody techno piece. It’s piercing lead synth line floats through an air of dirt and grime. Off beat hi hat splashes and muggy sounds are like listening to vintage Red Planet underwater.

The next track has sweet swung grooves and deep, complex pads. Slowly evolving, ‘Ibis228′ builds into a complex composition. The track sounds busy, but unconfused and progresses well throughout.

‘Flight 303′ is my favourite track on here. A thumping acid number, the bassline ducks and dives, creating an amazingly funky track using minimal input, stomping along, seemingly getting faster and faster. One for those late night sessions, where overexuberant behaviour and down right debauchary is deemed a more suitable way of life.

The flip side’s first track is aural bliss. ’Gerdsken’ is a beautiful ambient track that floats between Brian Eno and Popul Vuh. Melodies evolve through a thick air of pads, they reverberate and echo through chambers. Meandering and slowly winding its way through, it’s rare you hear such classical sounding ambience done this well.

Finishing off the EP, ‘cONCUSSION36′ is a dark, chicago jack track. It’s building frequency and nice chorussed lead line float over the top of jackbeat 707 patterns and a hypnotic, arpeggiated bassline to take this EP out on the high it has sustained throughout.

Daniel Andréasson has delivered a really fascinating record. 5 tracks that are all varied in style, but all show great skill and sound fantastic. Tabernacle Records have now released 4 EP’s that have consistently been exciting and fresh and I can’t wait to hear whats next.