Daniel Ibbotson ‎– Streamlines

Glasgow Underground ‎– GUCD6
CD, Album


1 Intro 0:45
2 Circa 6:50
3 Straylight 9:10
4 Atmospherics 1:20
5 Venture 7:00
6 Freeze 5:29
7 North By North West 7:43
8 No Sunshine 1:33
9 Hi Rise 7:39
10 Numbers 7:42
11 Nova 5:54
12 Abstract Tracks 1:31
13 Depart 5:17

Companies, etc.

  • Glass Mastered AtNimbus – D2251



Recorded in Glasgow 1998
Published by Glasgow Underground Music / Westbury Music Ltd.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 5 020667 330628
  • Barcode (Scanned): 5020667330628
  • Matrix / Runout: D2251 GUCD 006
  • Mastering SID Code: IFPI L122
  • Mould SID Code: ifpi 2320

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All



Add Review



June 30, 2004
edited over 14 years ago

After the collapse of Clear and its sublabel Reel Discs, Daniel Ibbotson found a new home on Glasgow Underground, where he released his second album, Streamlines. While his deep house sensibilities are still in full effect, the jazziness has been tempered somewhat with atmospherics. “Circa,” for example, retains some jazz elements, but they’re less pronounced. The long jam “Straylight” is heavy on the mood throughout the piece, while “Venture” takes a more nuanced approached, almost veering into pure ambience before the rhythm kicks in. It’s a quiet but strong track. “Freeze” is downtempo bliss, while “No Sunshine” is a is house on a deep funk kick. But despite the obvious pleasure in tracks such as “Hi Rise” and “Numbers” or the light breaks on “Nova,” this album feels slightly unfocused and underdeveloped. It’s still amazing in terms of production, however, so don’t hesitate to plunge into the streamlines.