Danny Breaks ‎– Another Dimension

Alphabet Zoo ‎– AZ 004 CD
CD, Album


1 Zooloo Nation
2 Rokin' On The Tables
3 La La La (Pt. 1)
4 The Jellyfish
5 Junkie For Beatz
6 A New Dimension
7 Martian (Bonus Beats)
8 Another Dimension
9 Down By Law
10 Beat Biter (Martian Instrumental)
11 Astral Vibes (Zoostrumental)
12 Zooloo Beats
13 For Your Mind
14 Spirals From The Mind
15 Rokin' On The MPC
16 La La La (Pt. 2)

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 673799 900426
  • Rights Society: GEMA



Add Review



March 31, 2004

Danny Breaks lives up to his name on <I>Another Dimension</I>, his first album for the Alphabet Zoo label. Most of the tracks are culled from his 12” off the Droppin’ Science label, but his sensibilities are crystal clear. He loves breaks –- not breakbeats, mind you, but old school, hip-hop breaks. His creations are peppered with samples and some wicked scratching. The samples augment the tracks wonderfully, from the Lawrence Welk-like choruses on “La La La (Pt. 1)” and “Down By Law”; the tinkling bells on “Junkie for Beatz”; or the harpsichord on “Spirals from the Mind.” But this release is definitely aimed at DJs, who would find that these tracks are perfect for segues and interludes. As home listening, the tracks aren’t developed enough to be called songs.