Daphne Oram ‎– The Oram Tapes: Volume One

Young Americans ‎– YoungAm003CD
2 × CD, Compilation

Companies, etc.



Recordings and Photographs taken from the Daphne Oram Collection, Goldsmiths, University of London.

Special thanks to the trustees of The Daphne Oram Trust, registered charity number 1134910 for making this edition possible.

Deluxe double CD edition in a DVD sized 8-panel digifile. The CD tracklisting differs slightly from the vinyl edition. Audio Mastering and Vinyl Cut at Dubplates & Mastering, Berlin.

CD2 also lists tracks 2-19 (Birth Of Baby) and 2-20 (Speech Test) which are actually not included on the release as individual tracks. However, track 18 on the CD2 (the last track) features Daphne Oram conducting a speech test on a Nagra recorder.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5060165482474
  • Matrix / Runout (CD1): www.handlewithcare.de YOUNGAM003CD AC67509-01
  • Matrix / Runout (CD2): www.handlewithcare.de YOUNGAM003CD AC67509-02
  • Mastering SID Code (CD1): ifpi L573
  • Mastering SID Code (CD2): ifpi L573
  • Mould SID Code (CD1): IFPI 9701
  • Mould SID Code (CD2): IFPI 9701

Other Versions (1 of 1) View All



Add Review



November 5, 2016
edited over 2 years ago

I might be wrong but I've been suspecting that on CD2, a few tracks must've been "combined" by accident, which is why there are 18 on the CD but the listing shows 20. So for those who own and listen to "The Oram Tapes, Vol. 1", I thought it would be helpful to show what I think the listing should be, starting at track 11:

11. Shell followed by Illustrations (Fireworks / Ardwich High School) at 1:50
12. Ursa Major (Sun Mix)
13. Oddments (Excerpt)
14. Oram & Rank / Pulse Persephone Experiment (1963)
15. Pulse Persephone Pitch Experiment (1963)
16. Sardonica (Excerpt)
17. Barclays Bank (Excerpt) followed by Birth of Baby at 0:24
18. Speech Test