Darol Anger ‎– Heritage

Koch Records ‎– KOC-CD-8032
CD, Album, HDCD, Reissue

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Headwaters: Shenandoah
Bass [Fretless], Featuring – Michael ManringPiano, Featuring – Phillip Aaberg*Violin, Mandolin [Octave Mandolin], Cittern – Darol AngerVocals [Sung By] – Jane Siberry
2 While Roving On A Winter's Night
Banjo [Nylon 5 String Banjo], Featuring – Bela Fleck*Electric Bass – Victor WootenGuitar [Baritone], Featuring – John Jennings (2)Guitar [Weissenborn Kona Guitar], Featuring – David LindleyPercussion – Joe CravenSynthesizer [Synth Schmear] – Darol Anger, Phillip Aaberg*Violin, Mandolin [Octave Mandolin] – Darol AngerVocals [Sung By] – Dar Williams, John Gorka
3 Rise Up, Shepherd, And Follow
Double Bass [String Bass] – Todd PhillipsDrums [Traps] – Aaron JohnstonGuitar, Featuring – Russell Barenberg*Piano – Barbara HigbieResonator Guitar [Resophonic Guitar], Featuring – Jerry DouglasSynthesizer [Synth Schmear] – Phillip Aaberg*Violin – Darol Anger
4 The Water Is Wide
Banjo [Five String Banjos], Featuring – Bela Fleck*Bass [Fretless], Featuring – Michael ManringGuitar [Baritone], Featuring – John Jennings (2)Mandolin, Featuring – David GrismanTalking Drum, Goblet Drum [Dumbek], Percussion [The Big Drum] – Joe CravenViolin, Mandolin [Octave Mandolin], Synthesizer [Schmear] – Darol AngerVocals [Sung By] – Tim O'Brien (3)
5 Hard Times Come Again No More
Adapted By – Stephen Foster (3)Arranged By – Darol Anger, David LindleyMandolin, Featuring – David GrismanPiano – Phillip Aaberg*Violin – Darol AngerVocals [Sung By], Guitar – Willie Nelson
6 La Ville Des Manteau
Bass – Victor WootenCittern, Guitar, Featuring – Mike Marshall (2)Drums [Drum Kit] – Aaron JohnstonPiano, Synthesizer [Synth Schmear], Featuring – Phillip Aaberg*Triangle – Joe CravenVocals [Sung By], Fiddle, Featuring – Michael DoucetVocals [Sung By], Violin [Octave Violin], Fiddle [More Fiddles] – Darol Anger
7 Pretty Polly
Bass [Cicada Bass], Featuring – Edgar MeyerGuitar, Guitar [Baritone], Featuring – John Jennings (2)Violin [Bird Violin] – Tracy SilvermanViolin, Violin [Ferrington Violin], Cello, Mandolin [Octave Mandolin] – Darol AngerVocals [Sung By] – Mary-Chapin Carpenter*
8 Are You Tired Of Me, My Darling?
Banjo [Five String Banjo], Featuring – Tony TrischkaBass – Todd PhillipsGuitar – Mike Marshall (2)Oboe, Featuring – Paul McCandlessPercussion – Darol Anger, Joe CravenSynthesizer [Synth Schmear] – Barbara HigbieViolin, Mandolin [Octave Mandolin], Bouzouki [Bouzouki Flangs] – Darol Anger
9 Oh, Death
Arranged By – Darol Anger, David LindleyDouble Bass [String Bass] – Todd PhillipsGuitar [Weissenborn Kona Guitar], Tap Dance [Heel & Toe], Featuring – David LindleyMandolin [Mandocello], Featuring – David GrismanPercussion [Big Bag Of Junk] – Joe CravenViolin [Octave Violins], Violin [Ferrington Violin], Guitar [Papoose Guitar] – Darol AngerVocals [Sung By] – Mavis Staples
10 Shenandoah: A Quiet Place/Golden Slippers
Electric Piano [Piano-like Electric Slab] – Phillip Aaberg*Ensemble – The Nashville LumberyardErhu [Chinese Violin], Violin [Zeta Violin], Mandolin [Octave Mandolin] – Darol AngerFiddle [The Nashville Lumberyard] – Darol Anger, Matt Glaser, Sam Bush, Stuart Duncan, Tim O'Brien (3)Fiddle [The Nashville Lumberyard], Featuring – John Hartford, Vassar Clements
11 Talk About Suffering Here Below
Arco Bass, Bass [Pizzicato Bass], Featuring – Edgar MeyerDulcimer [Hammered] – Tony ElmanHarp [Celtic] – Barbara HigbieMandolin [Octave Mandolin], Guitar, Guitar [Pencil Guitar] – Darol AngerStrings [String Quartet] – Barry Phillips, Darol Anger, David Balakrishnan, Drew Tretick
12 Down In The Willow Garden
Accordion, Synthesizer [Synth Schmear] – Barbara HigbieBass [Fretless], Featuring – Victor WootenGuitar [Solo] – David GrierPercussion, Shaker, Percussion [Pots & Pans] – Joe CravenViolin [Ferrington Violin], Guitar [Clank Guitar] – Darol AngerWhistle, Bass Clarinet, Featuring – Paul McCandless
13 To The Sea: O Shenandoah!
Arranged By – Darol Anger, Jane SiberryDouble Bass [String Bass] – Todd PhillipsPiano, Synthesizer, Featuring – Phillip Aaberg*Steel Drums [Steel Pans], Featuring – Andy NarellViolin, Mandolin [Octave Mandolin] – Darol AngerVocals [Sung By] – Jane SiberryVocals [With] – Hallie Skye Veninger-Switzer

Companies, etc.



No main artist is given on the cover or spine. However, this was re-released by Six Degrees in 2005 as a Darol Anger album.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 099923803225

Other Versions (2 of 2) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
314-524 434-2 Darol Anger Heritage(HDCD, Album) Six Degrees Records 314-524 434-2 US 1997 Sell This Version
PRCD 7569 2 Darol Anger Heritage(HDCD, Album, Promo) Six Degrees Records PRCD 7569 2 US 1997 Sell This Version