David Axelrod ‎– Earth Rot

Now-Again Records ‎– NA 5167LP, Universal Music Special Markets ‎– B0028037-01, Capitol Records ‎– B0028037-01, Now-Again Records ‎– NA 5167
2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue, Gatefold

Tracklist Hide Credits

The Warnings
A1 Part I 2:48
A2 Part II 4:28
A3 Part III 5:04
A4 Part IV 3:08
The Signs
B1 Part I 3:44
B2 Part II 3:43
B3 Part III
Bass – Arthur WrightVibraphone – Sonny Anderson
The Warnings (Instrumentals)
C1 Part I
C2 Part II
C3 Part III
C4 Part IV
The Signs (Instrumentals)
D1 Part I
D2 Part II
D3 Part III

Companies, etc.



RSD 2018 Black Friday Release of 2850 copies.
Contains bonus second album with Earth Rot's instrumentals, never before released.
Contains 28 page booklet with photos and interview.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Front sticker): 659457516710
  • Matrix / Runout (Side A runout, etched): B0028037-01-A G1 KB
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B runout, etched): B0028037-01-B G1 KB
  • Matrix / Runout (Side C runout, etched): B0028037-01-C G1 KB
  • Matrix / Runout (Side D runout, etched): B0028037-01-D G1 KB

Other Versions (5 of 9) View All

Cat# Artist  Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
5 21609 2 David Axelrod Earth Rot(CDr, Album, Promo, RE) Stateside, 10th Planet (2) 5 21609 2 UK 2001 Sell This Version
ANLP014 David Axelrod Earth Rot(LP, Album, RE) Ascension Records (5) ANLP014 Australia 2000 Sell This Version
ANCD014 David Axelrod Earth Rot(CD, Album, RE) Ascension Records (5) ANCD014 Australia 2000 Sell This Version
ANLP014 David Axelrod Earth Rot(LP, Album, RE, TP) Ascension Records (5) ANLP014 Australia 2000 Sell This Version
5167-CD-ST, B0028037-02 David Axelrod Earth Rot(CD, Album, RE) Now-Again Records, Capitol Records, Universal Music Special Markets 5167-CD-ST, B0028037-02 US 2018 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 9 Reviews

Add Review



January 20, 2019
edited 5 months ago
Does anyone else think their copy's artwork is very dark, compared to the photos added on this release and the original artwork?


December 30, 2018
the copy I picked up is a terrible pressing, not sure if they are all this way... Lots of surface noise, pops and crackling. Intermittent on sides A/B and present throughout sides C/D. Absolutely ruins the listening experience for this grail. Huge disappointment as the first two in this series sound great.


December 2, 2018
edited 6 months ago
Having really liked Axelrod’s arrangements from his instrumental records Songs of Experience, Songs of Innocence and Seriously Deep, I checked out Earth Rot a few years back and was turned off by the choral vocals. I didn’t get it and I didn’t bother to find out what they were talking about, I had just been hoping for more of his instrumental arrangement work. And finding the Earth Rot lp on vinyl was a pricy proposition as well.

When I saw the title in the Record Store Day list I looked into it again, This time read the lyrics. It’s written from the perspective of the Earth spirit, basically saying, fine, if you humans want to trash the place, not pay attention to the consequences and end up serving your own demise, that’s not a problem because the earth will heal itself and be better off without you anyway.

What is really cool about this particular reissue is that it’s a 2 lp set, with the additional record being instrumental versions of the original. And these aren't just the original tracks minus the vocals, they are different takes with instrumental solos in place of the choral story tellers. If you are into Axelrod, it's a nice score.


November 25, 2018
wicked release. wish they had re-printed the original inner bag with the gas mask (a la Tim Buckley's 'Greetings From L.A.')


November 24, 2018
Sadly, United pressed this and screwed it up, with side B being quite off-center. Fortunately, Now-Again is helping me with this, but United is absolutely incompetent to an alarming degree


November 23, 2018

I have no original to compare this to, but this pressing sounds amazing just like the last two reissues on Now-Again. They've done us a great service by remastering and re-releasing these masterpieces!