David Bowie ‎– Never Let Me Down

EMI America ‎– CDP 7 46677 2
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Day-In Day-Out
Lead Guitar – Sid McGinnis
2 Time Will Crawl
Guitar – Erdal KizilcayKeyboards – Philippe SaisseLead Guitar – Sid McGinnis
3 Beat Of Your Drum 5:03
4 Never Let Me Down
Written-By – Alomar*
5 Zeroes
Backing Vocals – The Coquettes
6 Glass Spider 5:30
7 Shining Star (Makin' My Love)
Rap – David Bowie, Mickey Rourke
8 New York's In Love 4:31
9 '87 And Cry 4:18
10 Too Dizzy
Written-By – Kizilcay*
11 Bang Bang
Lead Guitar – Sid McGinnisViolin – Erdal KizilcayWritten-By – Pop*, Kral*

Companies, etc.



Some of the tracks on this cd version are slightly longer compared to the vinyl version.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Scanned): 077774667722
  • Barcode (Text): 0 7777-46677-2 2
  • SPARS Code: ADD
  • Other (DADC Code): DIDX 1378
  • Other (On hub): Made in USA by Digital Audio Disc Corp. [D logo]®
  • Matrix / Runout: DIDX 1378 11A1

Other Versions (5 of 115) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
AMLS 3117, 24 0746 1 David Bowie Never Let Me Down(LP, Album) EMI America, EMI America AMLS 3117, 24 0746 1 UK 1987 Sell This Version
TOCP-70156 David Bowie Never Let Me Down(CD, Album, RE, RM) EMI TOCP-70156 Japan Unknown Sell This Version
CDP 7 46677 2 David Bowie Never Let Me Down(CD, Album, Lon) EMI America CDP 7 46677 2 US 1987 Sell This Version
AMLS 3117 David Bowie Never Let Me Down(LP, Album) EMI America AMLS 3117 Ireland 1987 Sell This Version
7243 8 40986 2 9 David Bowie Never Let Me Down(CD, Album, RE) Virgin 7243 8 40986 2 9 US 1995 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 2 Reviews

Add Review



August 24, 2018
edited 3 months ago

It was hated by everyone from the moment it came out, but this album really is not that bad.

It is very much a pop album, devoid of anything remotely funky/R'n'Beezy. It has a variety of styles, like the art rock-y, slightly silly indulgences in the middle ("Zeroes" and "Glass Spider"); the New Wave-ish beat of the otherwise unremarkable "Shining Star"; the semi-alternative, almost Psychedelic Furs-like sound of "New York's in Love"; and a trio of tepid yet ambitiously played pop-rock-and-roll tracks that close the album.

The lead track, "Day-In, Day-Out" is really a fun dance-pop listen, and the strongest single. You might say it's more style than substance, but certainly no less so than "Let's Dance".

If anything I'd say he was aiming high, trying to make an album that would work well as a concert experience. I think, though, by the time it came out, it was already just barely current, and quickly felt outdated.


September 10, 2017
Original EMI America Issue that includes the track 'Too Dizzy' which was omitted from later re-issues.