David Holmes ‎– Lets Get Killed

Go! Beat ‎– 539 100-2
CD, Album

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Listen
Engineer – Keith TenniswoodProducer – David Holmes
2 My Mate Paul
Engineer – Gary Burns, Keith TenniswoodProducer – David HolmesProducer [Additional Production] – Gary Burns, Jagz Kooner
3 Lets Get Killed
Engineer – Keith TenniswoodProducer – David Holmes
4 Gritty Shaker
Engineer, Programmed By – Gary Irwin, Keith TenniswoodVocals – Rodney Yates
5 Head Rush On Lafayette
Drums – Unknown ArtistProducer – David HolmesVocals – Deflon Sallahr
6 Rodney Yates
Producer – David HolmesProducer [Additional Production], Vibraphone, Guitar, Engineer, Vibraphone [Vibes], Guitar – Keith Tenniswood
7 Radio 7
Engineer – John BroughEngineer [Mix] – Tristin NorwellGuitar – Gem*Keyboards – Daphne TragakiProducer – David Holmes, Richie Fermie, Tim GoldsworthyRemix – Richie*, Tim*Strings, Brass – The London Session Orchestra
8 The Parcus & Madder Show
Producer – David Holmes
9 Slashers Revenge
Producer – David HolmesProducer [Additional Production], Engineer – Keith Tenniswood
10 Freaknik
Guitar – Gem*Keyboards – Daphne TragakiProducer – David Holmes, Richie Fermie, Tim Goldsworthy
11 Caddell Returns
Producer – David HolmesRemix – M. Ducasse*, T Nakanishi*
12 Don't Die Just Yet
Engineer [Mix] – Tristin NorwellGuitar, Bass – Paul NobleKeyboards – Steve CorleyProducer – David Holmes, Richie Fermie, Tim GoldsworthyStrings – London Session Orchestra*
13 For You
Producer – David Holmes

Companies, etc.



℗ 1997 Go! Beat except track 2 ℗ 1996 Go! Discs Ltd. © 1997 Go! Beat

Track 2 recorded at Sabresonic Studios & EPI. Voices recorded at St. Marks Place, N.Y.C.
Tracks 3 & 4 recorded at EPI Belfast. Rodney Yates-Public astrologer Washington Square Park, N.Y.C.
Track 5 recorded on Broadway and Lafayette, N.Y.C.
Track 6 recorded at Sabresonic.
Track 7 recorded at CTS, Pierce Rooms, Orinoco & Olympic. Mix engineered at The Strong Room. Radio vibes recorded in Washington Square Park, N.Y.C.
Track 9 recorded at Sabresonic. Voices recorded in the Bronx, N.Y.C.
Track 10 recorded at Fishco and Orinoco. Voices recorded Lower Eastside, N.Y.C.
Track 11 Remix for Skylab Productions. Done at Fischo, The Cally, London where it rains. Voices recorded Lower Eastside, N.Y.C.
Track 12 recorded and mixed at Matrix and Metropolis.
Track 13 voices recorded in Alphabet City, N.Y.C.

All tracks published by Island Music except track 7 published by EMI Music Ltd & track 12 published by Warner Chappell

Sticker on front: Parental guidance explicit lyrics

Incorrect durations are listed on back cover for track 2 (5:29) and track 12 (6:43).

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Text): 7 31453 91002 7
  • Barcode (String): 731453910027
  • Label Code: LC 7192
  • Price Code: PY 873
  • Rights Society: BIEM/MCPS
  • Matrix / Runout (Variant 1, 2 & 3): 539-100-2 01 >
  • Matrix / Runout (Inner Ring [Mould] Variant 1 & 3): MADE IN GERMANY BY PMDC E
  • Matrix / Runout (Inner Ring [Mould] Variant 2): MADE IN GERMANY BY PMDC C
  • Matrix / Runout (Inner Ring [Mould] Variant 4): MADE IN GERMANY BY PMDC B
  • Mastering SID Code (Variant 1, 2, 3 & 4): IFPI L003
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 1): IFPI 01M2
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 2): IFPI 01R9
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 3): IFPI 01K9
  • Mould SID Code (Variant 4): IFPI 01R8

Other Versions (5 of 12) View All

Cat# Artist Title (Format) Label Cat# Country Year
31453 9100 1 David Holmes Let's Get Killed(2xLP, Album, W/Lbl) 1500 Records 31453 9100 1 US 1997 Sell This Version
31453 9100 2 ADV David Holmes Lets Get Killed(CD, Promo) Go! Beat 31453 9100 2 ADV US 1997 Sell This Version
539 100-2 David Holmes Lets Get Killed(CD, Album, RP) Go! Beat 539 100-2 Europe Unknown Sell This Version
539 100-2 David Holmes Lets Get Killed(CD, Album) Go! Beat 539 100-2 UK 1997 Sell This Version
31453 9100 1 David Holmes Let's Get Killed(2xLP, Album) 1500 Records 31453 9100 1 US 1997 Sell This Version


Reviews Show All 8 Reviews

Add Review



September 1, 2013
Ain't there no Japanese Import of this? If someone knows, please get me a message. Thank you.


September 4, 2008
I bought this album the other day by mistake because I thought it was a trance album by another artist called "Dave Holmes" not "David". After realising this when I got into my car I thought to myself, Oh no I bet this is going to be shite. Was just about to bring it back but said id give it a quick listen.And the result was truly amazing! From start to finish this album is a masterpiece that I would never have picked up only for it had been placed in the wrong section in the store I bought it in. I'm not even to sure how describe how great the tracks are but I just get so relaxed for some reason when I listen to it. I could lie down and listen to it all day! I love it!

Take care,



January 23, 2008
When Danny DeVito commissioned Irish producer David Holmes to provide the score for the film Out of Sight, he chose wisely. Holmes's gritty, urban dance music, first exposed on the sadly underrated The Film's Crap Let's Slash the Seats, is perfect for evoking scenes and atmospheres, yet it's interesting enough to stand on its own. For this album, Holmes and a friend wandered the streets of New York, collecting voices and noises; Holmes then assembled them into an imaginary soundtrack with the structures of modern dance music and the sonic qualities of rock and dub reggae. Let's Get Killed is a disjointed cut-up session that brings the grit and excitement of city life into your living room without leaving a drop of blood.


May 3, 2006
edited over 12 years ago
Rodney Yates is the crowning jewel of this fantastic,ground-breaking album and definitely ranks very high among my all-time faves.A small trivial thing:in the Aphex Twin remix of "Journey" from 26 Mixes for Cash,good old AFX uses the melody from Rodney Yates in great effect and really elevates an already splendid track.It`s not a reworking(something that I suspect many of us would die for),but you can listen to a great piece of music in another context.


September 18, 2005
edited over 13 years ago

Awesome inventive album that is certainly a dance music classic & one of the best albums of the 90s. Just have to say a word about the track Rodney Yates which is an absolutely fanatstic piece of future funk, which has the most amazing funky zylophone which is a certain head nodder, foot tapper & all round groover - never fails to please & is just a brilliant classic. I would love to have this on 12 inch but unfortunately he never released it as a single or as part of an EP, damn!


January 15, 2002

very nice album. almost every track delites. especially the vocal intros, which have been taped in the streets of new york, before every song give a very urban feeling to this cd. "my mate paul" ist der wahnsinn, as the german says.